PDA

View Full Version : New to the forum, not so new to shooting

nursenick
07-20-2011, 02:45 PM
Hey guys, new member to the forum. I've been browsing the posts for a couple of months. I had a 2009 Saber until I sold it shortly before I deployed last fall. It was a good shooter, tuned extremely well, but just really noisy. I almost didn't go for another Martin, but I couldn't resist after I picked up a Rack Attack (upgraded Exile) at Dick's when I was in on R&R. I took it for a test shoot and loved it - plus it was on sale. All in all, it was going to be a few hundred less than the other bows I was looking at. I bought it. I put a few shots through it with some old arrows I had after I took it home and still loved it.
One thing I was concerned and disappointed about was discovering that people had reported problems with the TRG/SOS system. It looked pretty promising to me, and I like the placement of the string stopper so close to center point of the string. Since I haven't shot mine more than 10 times (and I haven't done any adjustment to it) I can't be sure that I will have problems with it. Being a technical kind of guy, I like to figure out ways to do things better. I want to figure out a way to get that TRG on an angled rod like a slider system rod. It seems to me that if you had a way to adjust both the rod and the TRG on the rod, you could reduce the lateral torque to a minimum. The SOS system seems to be a good idea, although suspending such a thin piece of rubber like that looks like it could have some durability issues. I plan on moving it to the point that the string doesn't quite touch it at rest (as it should be with most any string stopper) and hopefully that will keep it from breaking prematurely.