PDA

View Full Version : New Sabre owner



ScSabre
09-05-2011, 04:38 PM
Hey fellow archers! I recently purchased a 2010 Sabre from a local sporting goods store. They told me that I could change the draw length modules with out a press. Looking at the module screws, they cant be accessed with out some rotation of the cam. I just wonder if the guy knew what was speaking of. Also, Im having trouble finding what module is for what draw length. I have F1 through F7. There is a F2 installed now and it seems extremely short. This is the first compact bow I have owned and I could use a little help, if possible.

Thanks for your time.

Hutch~n~Son Archery
09-05-2011, 04:42 PM
Welcome to the forum, All you have to do is loosen the limb bolts. 2 full turns on the top, then 2 full turns on the bottom. Until you see the end of the bolts in the barrel nuts. The string should be loose then you can turn the cam enough to loose the module and change it. Then reverse the steps and you should be good to go.


Hutch :cool:

ScSabre
09-05-2011, 05:31 PM
Welcome to the forum, All you have to do is loosen the limb bolts. 2 full turns on the top, then 2 full turns on the bottom. Until you see the end of the bolts in the barrel nuts. The string should be loose then you can turn the cam enough to loose the module and change it. Then reverse the steps and you should be good to go.


Hutch :cool:

Thanks for the welcome and the advice. It worked perfectly.

bfisher
09-05-2011, 05:35 PM
You can do as Hutch said, but even turning the limb out isn't always necessary. All you have to do is squeeze the riser and cable together and this usually rotates the cam enough to get that "hiding" screw. So you hold them together and loosen the screw with the other hand. In a pinch, if you can't hold it long enough you can use a good sized zip-tie around the cable and riser till you're done with the mod swap. Now. if for some reason this doesn't work then do as Hutch suggested.

As far as the modules are concerned? Look at the Technical Specs on Martin's website. Not putting you off here. Just trying to treach you something. The Saber goes from 25" to 30". The f1 mod is for 25". f2 is for 26" and so forth. Don't ask me why but somehwere in the middle they will not use the f5 or f6 mod. Don't worry about it. Use whichever you need to get your draw length right. It doesn't matter what the draw length is so long as it fits you. Also, as with almost all bows, don't expect it to measure what the charts say. Most bows draw about 1/2" or so longer than what the charts say. Just make it fit.

Need any more help? Welcome to the Tech Forums where we try to answer all questions.

Destroyer
09-05-2011, 06:49 PM
They told me that I could change the draw length modules with out a press..

Same with some of the PSE's I've owned, they say that but it isn't exactly true. Welcome! :)

rbell420
09-07-2011, 04:05 PM
Same with some of the PSE's I've owned, they say that but it isn't exactly true. Welcome! :)

I've noticed the same thing with PSE. Particularly on some of their shorter bows.

MLN1963
09-07-2011, 06:41 PM
I'm going to try these tips on my kids Pantera next time. No amount of backing out the limb bolts would do it. Thanks Barry and Sonny!!

Destroyer
09-08-2011, 04:31 AM
if you can't hold it long enough you can use a good sized zip-tie around the cable and riser

Or just use a belt.

ScSabre
09-13-2011, 02:55 PM
Thanks all. I've got it tuned perfectly. It's been a 30 hour process but she is ready. I pitty the deer that walks out in front of my dead on range finder and my G5 Montec CS fixed blades this Thursday on opening day. Thanks again for the tips. I will report back with my first Martin harvest. Until then, Fly'em straight and Knock'em down!!!

Hutch~n~Son Archery
09-13-2011, 03:17 PM
That is good news. Thursday is our opening day as well. Won't get out opening day but will Saturday. Hope all goes well for you.



Hutch:cool:

Destroyer
09-13-2011, 03:54 PM
Good luck on your hunt. :)