PDA

View Full Version : Scepter II XR string



Unregistered
09-28-2007, 12:29 PM
Greetings!

I recently bought a used Martin Scepter II with wood/carbon limbs.
Once I dont know the string condition and so on, i decided to change the shooting string for a new one, the BIG problem is that after I spent hours on internet trying to find the correct length for the string im alot more confused.
Here in the forum i found a cam like the one o have installed, Flite, i think and in the wheel chart for Flite they say Scepter II M-56XR uses a 42" string and the one installed in my bow measures only 38 3/4".
Also I think my bow is the M-57XR, as here:

http://www.martinarchery.com/bows1998/scepxr.html

Here i leave a link to my bow:

http://img515.imageshack.us/img515/6495/scepter2xrny0.th.jpg (http://img515.imageshack.us/my.php?image=scepter2xrny0.jpg)

I note my limbs are a bit out of the riser, and its needed some force to screw them.

Now: 38.77" as in the bow or the 42" as "recomended" in flite wheel chart???

I also sent an email to Martin a few days ago and no answer till now.

Many thanks,

Henrique Patricio

bfisher
09-28-2007, 01:08 PM
I can't help with the string length, but I would caution you to pick the right string material. With the laminated wood limbs it's advisable to use a Dacron or B50 string. Do not use fast flight or modern synthetics. I don't think the limbs will hold up as more modern strings don't have enough stretch when shot.

bfisher
09-28-2007, 01:09 PM
I forgot to add that you might get more help at www.archerytalk.com

There are tons of Martin shooters on that site.

Good luck to you.

Robert58
09-28-2007, 03:06 PM
Martins website doesn't go far enough back to get the bow spec's you need. But you have the M56XRG Scepter. What you need to do is call Martin 509-529-2554 and give them the spec's on your bow with the 38 3/4" string on it.

Axle to axle and braceheight. Also the number of the wheels, that indicates what draw lenght the cams are designed to give.

Have them check the charts and see if your bow is to factory spec's. If your limbs are backed off a number of turns from being bottomed out. You have alot of pre-load on the limbs. Someone may have really short strung the bow to get a much shorter draw lenght than the cams are suppose to give for the number on them. The picture of your bow sure looks like it has a higher braceheight than it should.

The limb bolts should not be overly hard to turn, just hard enough so that they won't back off on you while you are shooting. But they sometimes get stuck and will need a little nudge to get them turning if they don't have much anti-seeze compound on them.

Robert

astrostar
09-28-2007, 04:17 PM
Now Im registred

First of all, thank you all!

Robert, my bow braceheight is 9" (23cm) and axle to axle 46.45" (118cm).

the wheels dont have any numbers on it, even so o toke some pics:

the whells,

http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/5562/wheel1ig1.th.jpg (http://img213.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wheel1ig1.jpg)

http://img20.imageshack.us/img20/329/wheel2os5.th.jpg (http://img20.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wheel2os5.jpg)

the space between riser and limb,

http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/8240/riserlimbea5.th.jpg (http://img219.imageshack.us/my.php?image=riserlimbea5.jpg)

here the bow,

http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/9574/bowjo6.th.jpg (http://img339.imageshack.us/my.php?image=bowjo6.jpg)

in this last image we can see the teardrop more distant from wheel then in the photo in the Martin web page.


Thanks,

Henrique

Robert58
09-28-2007, 09:10 PM
Yes. Someone has really short strung that bow to get the draw lenght down to where it is now. When you call Martin Monday, have the bow next to you so ytou can answer their questions. They can have you discribe the wheels and should be able to tell you what draw lenght the bow would have if it had the correct lenght string on it. Those limb bolts are backed out to the limit or beyond. Martin recommends not shooting their bows with the limb bolts backed out over five turns. But I have seen people shoot them indoor at lower poundage with them back out alot more.

Please call Martin Monday and talk to one of their Tech Reps. They will be able to help you out. They should be able to locate a set of different wheels if you need them for your draw lenght.

Robert

astrostar
09-29-2007, 06:04 AM
Hi!

once again thank you for your answer Robert. :)

I live in Portugal and a call to the US would cost me as much as the bow, we know how this things work.
So i would like to try solve the problem from here, after all this is Martins tech forum ;)

I know is an "old" bow, but is my first compound bow, i would like to tune it rigth today to enjoy it well tomorrow.

I measured a 24" draw on it, for me I need arround 28".
And yes, the person who sold me the bow have use it to make indoor competition, and he also told me the bow was tunned for that.
I have 71" tall he would have arround 65 or less.

Thanks
Henrique

Robert58
09-29-2007, 03:45 PM
Ok. Now we can help you. Go to your nearest bow shop that has a number of different lenght strings. With the teardrop harness system on that bow DO Not put anything but a Dacron B-50 string on it. If your bow shop only has fastflyte strings. Make sure he can repace the cables if they break. When I had my Firecat with the teardrop system I had to use Fastflyte strings and I would get about two years out of a set of cables. I shoot alot.

Now to get your draw lenght. It sounds like when you put the correct 42" string on your bow you will get around 28" draw lenght. If it comes out 29" just put a shorter string on to get you your 28". But do not put a longer string on it.

Also when you get the correct string on your bow the limb angles will be back to where they are suppose to be and the limb bolts should turn easier.

Robert

astrostar
09-30-2007, 07:01 PM
Hi!

Robert, tomorrow or the day after tomorrow I think Ill have the new string with 42"

Today I made a bow press and I already removed the old string and have done some test measures with a 42" string "home made". Now i have another doubt...

the cam wheel:

http://img490.imageshack.us/img490/28/flitecamaj8.th.jpg (http://img490.imageshack.us/my.php?image=flitecamaj8.jpg)

here in this picture we can see the string cable caming out the cam OVER the cable in the cam, this in the middle position, if i put it in the first position dont came over the cable. (sorry my english, i cant find other words to express my self)
Now the big question: Is this normal? the cable dont came out of the cam when shooting the bow ?

By the way.... here is a picture of my home made press :)

http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/5180/bowpressys4.th.jpg (http://img213.imageshack.us/my.php?image=bowpressys4.jpg)

Regards
Henrique

Robert58
09-30-2007, 07:42 PM
Sorry. But I don't know anything about Flyte Wheels. If you look up Joelc in the members list and PM him he should be able to answer all of your questions.

Good luck,
Robert

astrostar
10-01-2007, 02:13 PM
Thanks!

I already sent a PM, hope to get some help.

By the way, the pressure/force on the string uses to be equal to the one in the cables or much diferent? string loose and cables tight?

Thx
Henrique

astrostar
10-02-2007, 07:36 PM
well....

the new string has arrived and i installed it on bow, made some changes in cables, pull them a bit back so the string suport some weight.

now ive been trying to tune it the best i can with the information i read on internet

Im thinking make a new post with photos and some information regarding scepter 2, the goal is that some one that one day have the same problem i did, can get some photos of a flite wheel in detail for example.

tomorrow ill test the setup and will continue trying to tune it.

big thanks to Robert for the support. :)

Henrique