PDA

View Full Version : draw length on hunter recurve?

martin-hunter57
09-30-2007, 08:00 PM
im tall 6 feet 4 inches. My draw length is 31 inches and i was wondering what the max draw length on a martin hunter recurve? I currently own a martin jaguar and hunt with it regularly but am interested in traditional archery.

satan15
11-11-2008, 08:40 AM
Hi there,
Your post caught my attention because you own the Jaguar Recurve. I am a beginner in the sport of archery and would like to get your feedback on the bow.

Also, please tell me your set uo for the bow. What rest and sights are you using and what arrows too.

I am planing to purchase the Jaguar but it seems there is not sight which is particularly suitable for recurves on the martin catalog.

I'll really appreciate any help in this regard.

dbd870
11-11-2008, 08:46 AM
Recurves aren't like compounds, there is no draw length setting. You draw to your anchor point. The rated weight is measured at 28" so you will end up pulling a little more than rated weight.

alex
11-11-2008, 08:58 AM
The draw lenght of the recurve is till you break it or it breaks you :D .And if you are as strong as tall you must be carefull about the first possibility ;) .

Saberuser
11-11-2008, 05:51 PM
Your draw will be a few inches shorter then with a compound. juat the simple facts of recurves. Have fun with a new adventure.

satan15
11-11-2008, 11:30 PM
Thanx for the help guys

Just need a bit more info. Could anyone suggest a site for the Jaguar, or is it intended to be shot bare bow?

Montalaar
11-12-2008, 03:45 AM
@original poster

The draw length for a recurve or longbow depends on its length. A 66" recurve will not support draw lengths longer then 26". For very long draw lenghts you should consider a 72" recurve or longbow. That is the reason why W&W, Hoyt and all the other manufacturers sell their risers in different lengths so that everybody can get the perfect fit.

alex
11-12-2008, 04:27 AM