PDA

View Full Version : Changing strings on 2012 Bengal

longshot1154
01-04-2012, 02:30 PM
Greetings all,

New member here and am looking at picking up the 2012 Bengal Pro. I apologize in advance if this question has all ready been answered but I tried to use the search feature and could not find the answer. I was reading the owner's manual online and it advises that the 10 and 20 pound weight drops need to be done at a dealer as well as string changes. I know on my old Martin, I could back the limb bolts out enough to relieve the pressure on the strings in order to replace them. Is this no longer a feature on the 2012 bows? I have a bowmaster portable bow press, and was further wondering if this bow press is acceptable to use on the new Bengal? Again, sorry if this has all ready been asked, I have searched here as well as on Archerytalk but could not find the answers.

Keith

Speedykills
01-04-2012, 03:11 PM
Yes this subject has been beaten to death over and over and over.....:p.....no but really if it has those steel barrel nut's that the limb bolts go through then i would say yes.But as many here will say useing a press is the preferd method.........

longshot1154
01-04-2012, 03:18 PM
Thanks for the response. Probably wasn't using the right words to search for the answers. In looking at the photos, it looks like it has the steel barrel nuts, but I haven't seen the bow in person, so was looking to get some info before ordering.

elkslayer4x5
01-07-2012, 04:01 AM
Everything I've read indicates that you'll be able to back out the limb bolts as per usuall, but if not, you already have a Bowmaster portable and that will give you more than enough slack to change to the other pegs. If nothing else, the Bowmaster will save you the work of turning the limb bolts out and in. Because I am lazy, I use a ratchet with a 5/8 socket to crank my Bowmaster, gives me a lot more leverage. Just a thought. :)

droppixel
01-07-2012, 05:40 AM