PDA

View Full Version : Help Tuning

Bo Hunter
01-08-2012, 03:03 PM
Today I finished my paper tuner so I began to paper tune my bow. Before I paper tuned my bow I used the Laser Bowplane to make sure I had no cam lean, I had center shot setup and the nock was level with the rest. After I shot the bow through the paper tuner This is what I got.

I reviewed the Easton Tuning Guide and noticed with a pattern like that I should move the nock point up a 1/16" of an inch. So i did. and I did again and again. In fact I had to move it several times before I got what was even close to being dead on. This is what I now have.

Am I right to not be happy with that? I'm not really sure what else to do. This is a pic of my setup and as you will see the nock is extreemly high. It looks odd. I may be doing something wrong.
I should also note that I intend on using FOB's after the bow is tuned properly. As is, although im no expert, the FOB looks like it would not pass the top of the rest correctly....unless it drops significantly when fired. Should I be moving the rest as well? Here is a pic with the FOB installed.

Bo Hunter
01-08-2012, 05:20 PM
OK,

I failed to mention that I was shooting cheap walmart arrows because I didnt want to screw up the blazers on my expensive victory V1 arrows. The trophy ridge revolution has been known to eat fletchings. I've been doing some reading and I went to Carbon Arrow University and noticed that if the spine size of the cheap walmart arrows was different (as well as length) than my v1 arrows I'd get problems. So I decided to take a chance and shoot my v1 arrows. Immediatley I noticed in the paper test that the nock was too high. WOW what a difference. I adjusted the nock to what this:
I shot 2 more times with similar results. Could I have tourqed the shot or do I need to adjust something else?

Speedykills
01-08-2012, 05:49 PM
May have torqued it,maybe take a break and shoot it next day and see what it does.