PDA

View Full Version : bobcat

navaman
11-03-2007, 06:22 AM
i just wanted to introduce myself and start right out the gate with a question. i've been hunting with a crossbow for a couple of years now but i always wanted to learn how to shoot with a compound vertical bow. however 20 + years of hard construction work and the injuries i've had makes pulling back a bow extremely painful. yesterday a guy sold me an old martin bobcat compound bow. it has black limbs a wooden riser and the cams are brass in appearance. the poundage is adjustable to 70 lb. i had the guy turn the the poundage down and i can shoot it. i just can't do it too many consecutive times in a row. it's as much fun as i thought it would be but i'm wonderering if anyone knows what year this bow was made and a little about what fps to expect from it. this bow is in excellent shape and i'm going to start conditioning my shoulders so i can shoot it more often. looking forward to learning more about archery from you seasoned bow hunters out there and if you ever had a question about crossbows i'd be happy to answer if i can or at least refer you to a place to get an answer. thanks again....albert

bfisher
11-03-2007, 06:33 PM
Al,

I honestly don't know what year, but I'd suspect it's from the mid 70's. There were several makes and models from that era with wooden risers. My first compound was a model I (eye) Jennings with a wooden riser.

Maybe I can give you some advice about the shoulders as I have "been there and done that". I know you have the bow turned down, but if your shoulders are that bad then keep the weight turned down as far as possible to learn bow to shoot and not damage the shoulders.

When I shot those bows from yesteryear they only had about 20% letoff and round wheels so were not real pleasant to hold at full draw. Being an accomplished archer back then I only shot about 55# for a hunting setup. For target most men, including me, shot bows peaking in the mid to upper forties.