PDA

View Full Version : Question from a novice

vger105
02-14-2012, 12:46 PM
I am new to archery and have a question. I am buying a Martin X-150 and am unsure as to what string tension (is that how it's put?) to order; 50 lbs., 55 lbs., etc.
I am 6 ft. tall, weigh about 200 pounds, and have never used a bow. Would someone be able to recommend a good starting string tension?
TIA for any help

bfisher
02-14-2012, 01:40 PM
I'd suggest going to a shop that has some traditional gear on hand and trying various "draw weights". That is the term you are asking about.

Speedykills
02-14-2012, 01:42 PM
What kind of martin bow is that!!!!! anyway if it's a compound 60# max is enough to kill anything in north America.Thats what draw weight my bow is.Ive killed deer,hogs,turkey with that draw weight so should be no problem.
Now if your talking traditional then i have no clue.

Hutch~n~Son Archery
02-14-2012, 02:08 PM
What kind of martin bow is that!!!!! anyway if it's a compound 60# max is enough to kill anything in north America.Thats what draw weight my bow is.Ive killed deer,hogs,turkey with that draw weight so should be no problem.
Now if your talking traditional then i have no clue.Its a nice re-curve!!!!!!!!!!

http://www.midwesthuntersoutlet.com/DisplayPic.aspx?PIC=303991

Hutch:cool:

Double S
02-16-2012, 05:22 AM
I am new to archery and have a question. I am buying a Martin X-150 and am unsure as to what string tension (is that how it's put?) to order; 50 lbs., 55 lbs., etc.
I am 6 ft. tall, weigh about 200 pounds, and have never used a bow. Would someone be able to recommend a good starting string tension?
TIA for any help