PDA

View Full Version : 2012 Bengal set up



b_frazier
04-30-2012, 08:38 PM
I just got a new Bengal and the Y cable was cut because it was rubbing on the middle of the cam, by the draw length adjustment mod. When I called Martin they said that it wasn't set up correctly. Sense I set it up I must need some help on the proper way to adjust draw length and draw stop. I currently have the mod at a 1 and the draw stop about 3/4 in away from the - side. The string is getting cut when it goes across the center of the cam. What are your thoughts?? The first picture is of the part where the cable is rubbing. The second two are where the other adjustments are.
641864196420

wscywabbit
04-30-2012, 08:42 PM
first off, welcome to the forum!

Secondly, a picture is worth a thousand words my friend. So if you can post some close ups of your cam we can help a bit easier... and faster ;)

b_frazier
04-30-2012, 08:53 PM
How are those pics?? Do they help?

droppixel
04-30-2012, 09:26 PM
What is your draw length? In the #1 hole there isn't much room for cam rotation before the cable sets into the back of the module where it starts to taper down. I'm noticing that with mine as well and I have mine set on the #4. I'm trying to figure out where the best "stop" for this module is as well since it doesn't have a flat spot like the others I am used to so you know when it is seated where it needs to be. I know from what others have said so far that if the module is over rotated or the draw stop isn't set proper that is where the wear comes from. Trying to do everything I can to prevent that for as long as possible until I can drop some money on a custom set.

b_frazier
04-30-2012, 09:52 PM
I'm about a 28 in. I've been playing with it a little and think at I may have figured it out. I moved the mod back to 2 and played with draw stop. It is no longer touching the spot where the wear was taking place. Let me know if you find out anything else. Thanks

droppixel
04-30-2012, 11:42 PM
Forgot from Jim's post on these he said:


Mod settings, depending on how you want to look at it, either Martin has the incorrect DL specs listed and these are right on the money or they have the correct DL specs listed and the bow draws a 1/2" long. With the cable on the standard post and the mod set on the longest setting which is #5, the bow drew to an exact 31" AMO, on the #1 mod setting the bow drew to an exact 27" AMO. Either way, the bow set up on the standard post will draw from 27-31" in 1/2" increments and will be dead on AMO for each setting, using the draw stop you can fine tune the DL up a good bit or down just a little. Any way you look at it, the average sized archer will be able to get his exact DL dialed in. Because of time constraints, I didn't take the time to move the cable to the other 2 available posts, you can look back at the Pantera specs and get a pretty good idea where this bow will go to using the other posts.

So that would you at 2-2.5 depending how you look at it and set your stop.

wscywabbit
05-01-2012, 10:09 AM
In their specs, the draw lengths they give take into consideration the range of movement given by the draw stop as well as changing the posts for draw weight. From the #1 peg to the #3 peg unless I'm mistaken is about 1" of movement shorter... and I'm not sure how much movement you'll get going all the way to then of the + or the -.

b_frazier
05-01-2012, 08:53 PM
I have it at a 2 right now with the stop about in the middle. Just have to wait on my Y cable to show up. I don't think it will rub now. Thanks for the info.

b_frazier
05-08-2012, 09:31 PM
Need more help. I shot about a hundred arrows through the bow with the new y cable on it. Where the string is hitting the axle it has already cut through the serving. I can't change the draw stop or I don't get the break over needed on the cam for any let off. I cant figure out why the serving is getting cut on the axcel that has no sharp edges. What help can you give me?

droppixel
05-08-2012, 09:37 PM
Sounds like you might be over-rotating it. Have you checked the module itself? If you say the cable is touching the axle, that sounds like a problem in itself. Does the draw length feel good with the setting you have the module in or do you think you could work with it a little bit more?

There is still a lot about this cam that we don't know yet, so hopefully it will come in time.

b_frazier
05-08-2012, 09:49 PM
As soon as it doesn't touch the axcel it is either is too long or has no let off.

Zforce
05-09-2012, 07:40 AM
fraizer, I have had the same issue. My draw is about 28 plus string loop. I had a perfect fit for me with the mod set at 1.5 and draw stop set as I thought felt right. The cable was touching the axle and seperating the serving. It did'nt cut the string. I moved the mod to 2 and adjusted the draw stop a bit shorter and seemed to cure the problem. I wrapped a piece of black tape at that spot on the serving to check for wear. It touches slightly, but not wearing. My bow is a Silencer set at 54 lbs.

b_frazier
05-09-2012, 08:02 AM
I tried that and the string was still touching. I have it where it feels good right now. I'm convinced that the new cam should allow my setting to work without me compromising what feels good. Plus, the big deal with the cam and why I bought it was its adjustability. I'm glad you got yours fixed though.

wscywabbit
05-09-2012, 01:53 PM
It still sounds like you're over rotating. I'd take the mod up another notch, and move the draw stop to your length. If you're still touching at full draw, do it again.

Perhaps your string set is not to length? Maybe measure the cable and the string and put them back on...

bob cooly
05-09-2012, 04:58 PM
B:eek:een thinking about a new Bengal, but I am begining to wonder about the Fury system. Last year we had the TRG/SOS string chewing bug, don't think I want another, might wait a year an see if Martin can fix it.

joelc
05-09-2012, 05:23 PM
B:eek:een thinking about a new Bengal, but I am begining to wonder about the Fury system. Last year we had the TRG/SOS string chewing bug, don't think I want another, might wait a year an see if Martin can fix it.


Hey Bob, There is no issue with the Fury cam as long as it is set up properly!

droppixel
05-09-2012, 08:41 PM
Hey Bob, There is no issue with the Fury cam as long as it is set up properly!

Any chance we can get any extra insight on what is proper vs what isn't? Doesn't seem like there is enough out there on this cam just yet, so anything we can get from the top would be excellent.

bob cooly
05-09-2012, 09:35 PM
Joel, I choose Martin because of your great CS, but am stranded without any dealers or proshops near. So like another said esp. for us that have to do most our own work some more detail on proper setup would do alot in building confidence to buy another bow. As soon as I sell a pristine Rem 700 BDL in 17 Rem. (not the rimfire) it is lethal injection for a coyote.

joelc
05-10-2012, 09:46 AM
Any chance we can get any extra insight on what is proper vs what isn't? Doesn't seem like there is enough out there on this cam just yet, so anything we can get from the top would be excellent.

I'm pretty sure everything has been covered in this thread. If your draw stop is set too long it allows the cam to over rotate causing the cable to make contact with the inner hub. As it rolls over the cable makes contact with an abrupt edge...too much contact in the hub area will cause cable serving wear. By moving the draw stop peg a small amount towards the "-" side of the draw stop track you can avoid this contact.

b_frazier
05-11-2012, 11:51 PM
Took it up to the factory and they fixed it right up. Looking at how they set it up I don't think there is as much play in the valley at the lower draw lengths. I now have a new cam and strings that are set up perfect. Great CS is very important. Martin is good about making it right.

droppixel
05-16-2012, 10:46 AM
Good to know. I'm still playing with mine little by little to see if I can do any more with it. I really need to get my hands on a chrono so I can see where it sits and if any of the changes that I would be making are helping or hurting performance.

nilrednuas
05-17-2012, 10:36 AM
I'm about a 28 in. I've been playing with it a little and think at I may have figured it out. I moved the mod back to 2 and played with draw stop. It is no longer touching the spot where the wear was taking place. Let me know if you find out anything else. Thanks

If your draw length is 28" you would want it set around the 3-4 mark and move the draw stop accordingly. Im 29" draw and set at the 3.5 mark with the stop just past the middle on the + side