PDA

View Full Version : Info needed!

Hutch~n~Son Archery
12-18-2013, 04:31 PM
Okay everyone! need advise, ideas, help. I am not a novice @ refinishing. But I like you guys tricks and advise.
1st a customer gave me this bow and wants the green changed.
2nd someone before him urethaned it and it was bad.

Now the loaded question!!

How would you refinish it?
What paint would you use on the glass limbs?

Hutch

elkslayer4x5
12-19-2013, 10:14 AM
You lucky Dog!! Nice bow, but you're gonna have to learn to shoot from the correct side with that one. :) Bow really deserves a quality refinish, so I'd ask a professional, someone like bowdoc, yorktown5, or the man who made the bow originally, Larry Hatfield, although he is in Cambodia right now, he'll be comming home soon. You can find them all over on Stickbow.com "LeatherWall".
http://leatherwall.bowsite.com/TF/lw/THREADSx2.CFM

Hutch~n~Son Archery
12-19-2013, 04:46 PM
Thanks elkslayer4x5

Hutch

Mike G
12-19-2013, 07:46 PM
I would film dip it. I have tried stripping urethane from old recurves with strippers that I cut to weaken them, but it never turns out good. I've tediously used scrubbing pads and very light grit sand papers to roughen up runny varnish coatings similar to this and then used flat colors to do camo paint jobs. These days film dipping is the way to go.

What a way to ruin a beautiful bow.

Good luck!!!

After thinking about it more, the wood riser leave the natural wood grain and use a snake skin film dip for the limbs. Check out https://www.mydipkit.com/index.html

Mike

Hutch~n~Son Archery
10-24-2014, 08:14 PM
Pics of it coming soon!

Hutch

elkslayer4x5
10-25-2014, 09:43 AM
I actually fear this part. So what have you done to a classic bow, a Ne Plus Ultra no less ?

bfisher
10-25-2014, 03:02 PM
I would have to agree that film dipping is the best way to go. The light green in the limbs is not ON them. It's IN them, as imbedded in the glass laminations. You're not going to be able to remove it.