PDA

View Full Version : Got a MOAB

nocknroll
09-20-2008, 01:50 PM
Hi all... I'm new to the sport and I really wouldn't know any better but my archer friends who shoot Mathews and Hoyts are impressed with my new bow. It was a package so I was ready to go too. Anyway I'm having fun and it's a great release from a days work.

Question, in punching in the values at the Easton arrow selection site, what style cam should I enter?

I have 55-70 limbs I currently have them at turned down 3 turns to 61#. I intend to slowly crank up the poundage. Should I get arrows intended for higher than 61#?

Thanks

Montalaar
09-20-2008, 05:48 PM
The MOAB uses the M-Pro Cam which is a Single Cam.

I would get arrows that work from 60-65#. Maybe you will be able to draw even more next year so you can get stiffer arrows then.

dbd870
09-21-2008, 06:58 AM
Hello from another MOAB shooter. When using the Easton software I just call it any of the new bows hard cam and move on.

nocknroll
09-21-2008, 12:03 PM
Thank you Montalaar and dbd.

I downloaded and printed a hard copy of the latest Easton (http://www.eastonarchery.com/company/downloads/brochures) chart. So based on the chart, I'm currently in Group G when I eventually bump up to my max poundage I would be in Group I. Correct me if I'm wrong but I should be able to use the same Epic ST 400's throughout that weight range...right?

On the MOAB, the white cable guide slide... the cable seems to be wearing a groove in one of the slots. Is that normal wear and tear? Maybe I should pick up some extra slides?

Sorry about all the questions... but thanks.

flytier17
09-21-2008, 12:06 PM
Welcome to the Mtech forum.

Just a question, why shoot at 70lbs. You aren't doing your shoulder any favors. You certainly don't need the additional KE to kill any NA game. And at 60lbs, you will be able to hold the bow longer at FD and still make a precise shot.