PDA

View Full Version : Monster Buck Hairline Limb Cracks



BUPLAUX
10-30-2008, 07:04 PM
:(:(:(Bought it from Dicks yesterday. Looking it over when I got home I noticed hairline cracks on both the inside and outside of the upper and lower limbs extending from the Y cam slot. Two run the entire length of the limb. Planned to hunt this week so don't want to go through taking it back. Do you think this is the camo film, if so why don't I see this on other brands? Will Martin Send me new limbs or is this going to be an ordeal? This is my first bow.
Thanks,
Jeff

Montalaar
10-31-2008, 06:13 AM
Just get back to Dicks and show them what you got. If you have not fired it at all they should give you another bow in return.. ;)

You can also call the Martin customer service, they will send you a new set of limbs.

dbd870
10-31-2008, 10:13 AM
Sometimes the camo finish can look like cracks, my Cougar is like that; although if I'm remembering correctly (which I may not be) mine don't run that direction. I agree take it back and let them inspect it.

buck hunter
11-01-2008, 07:51 AM
i had a martin bow do that on me(the martin wildcat from dicks) i had it for a few months only shot 10 times so i called the store and took it back and got a martin trophy hunter for no hassle at all in fact they didnt make pay the diffrince

Parashooter
09-30-2009, 09:59 PM
Damn.... I just got a Wildcat at Dick's tonight, got home, and peeling off the price tag felt it... looked hard, got out the microscope (I keep it handy, I get splinters often) and sure enough it looks like cracks running from the bolts towards the cams, 4-5" long... UNDER the logos so it's not like it was dry-fired...

gotta go back tomorrow after work now...

Pete

Montalaar
10-01-2009, 12:33 AM
Makes me wonder what they do to those bows at Dicks.

Desmond
10-01-2009, 04:46 AM
Makes me wonder what they do to those bows at Dicks.




It's a shame that this sorta thing happened, but it has nothing to do with MARTIN nor Dick's companies. Is from some careless employees that works for Dick's Sporting Goods. I say this 'cause recently I bought a Monster bow for my son, but before I bought it I draw two bows before it and their string in fact came off. I was lucky enough that the employee that was working that day is a friend of mine and he let me drew each bow on display and a couple left in their storage room. I visually checked the ones that the string came off and they showed damage on either the cams or the tips of the limbs like they were dropped or "roughly" handled. I have bought a few bows from Dick's and never had problems with them. I recommend to always to draw the bow and even shoot it in the store (if they have a shooting range/room of course) before you make the purchase.
Hope they solve your problem right away.:cool:

Parashooter
10-01-2009, 07:34 AM
It's a shame that this sorta thing happened, but it has nothing to do with MARTIN nor Dick's companies. Is from some careless employees that works for Dick's Sporting Goods. I say this 'cause recently I bought a Monster bow for my son, but before I bought it I draw two bows before it and their string in fact came off. I was lucky enough that the employee that was working that day is a friend of mine and he let me drew each bow on display and a couple left in their storage room. I visually checked the ones that the string came off and they showed damage on either the cams or the tips of the limbs like they were dropped or "roughly" handled. I have bought a few bows from Dick's and never had problems with them. I recommend to always to draw the bow and even shoot it in the store (if they have a shooting range/room of course) before you make the purchase.
Hope they solve your problem right away.:cool:

Shooting range/Room??? damn, I didn't even think to ask.. Just presumed a 'box store' wouldn't have that... The salesperson had no problem clipping off the zipties and letting me draw - even had a 'dead' release that just hooks on, but will not release the string

He seemed knowledgeable, a hunter himself, I'll be calling Martin shortly (it's' early yet) and be going back to the store either way after work... On top of all this, the bow I got is 60# max, don't know how that happened, all the ones I looked at were 70. (I know I don't really 'need' 70 anyway, but I'd rather turn down a 70# to 60, than max out a 60...less stress on the limbs I think) - It didn't help that it was just before closing time and the manager is a dictator/prick (even his announcements to customers felt derogatory) So we got a little rushed.

Spiker
10-01-2009, 09:02 AM
Actually your bow will perform better and be quieter set at close to the top of it's range.

davydtune
10-01-2009, 09:04 AM
Actually your bow will perform better and be quieter set at close to the top of it's range.

Yep for certain. ;)

bubbacrabb
10-01-2009, 09:52 AM
Martin would cover it under your lifetime warranty, but dang its only been a recent purchase, take that dang thing back.

Parashooter
10-01-2009, 01:53 PM
Actually your bow will perform better and be quieter set at close to the top of it's range.

Really??? Interesting! thanks for that!

Montalaar
10-01-2009, 02:11 PM
It is quieter because the limb bolt is so tight that there is less vibration between limb pocket and the limb itself. This will reduce vibration and also the noise. The only other possibility would be to decrease the area that has contact to the limb AND the riser. What is what Hoyt does with its AM-Series.

Parashooter
10-01-2009, 06:34 PM
Thanks for the input guys.... (wonder how the original poster made out?)

I ran back to dick's, and they swapped it out no problem! I also got the 70# that I intended to get to start with (ALL the others were 70... just the one that I picked up was 60... my luck)

Next detail is that while selecting and inspecting the replacement, I noticed that there are two different "M-Pro" cams... Same size and shape, but on has a slot with numbers for a T-nut, and a stopper pin (from looking at the manual) and the other doesn't have this slot.

No pin/nut with any of these.... What's it for?

Spiker
10-02-2009, 05:15 AM
Adjustable draw stop.

Parashooter
10-02-2009, 06:35 AM
that's what I thought.... but I still don't know if it should have come with the bow... Or if it's something I'll need or not....and I don't know which came first- slotted for the stop or not -
The manual leaves a bit to be desired on these details.

Spiker
10-02-2009, 09:14 AM
The newer ones have the draw stop. I believe it is an option on that model.
I like using one - it gives you a solid wall to stop against plus you can micro tune your draw length with it and also set it for the type of let-off and draw cycle you prefer. You can call Martin and order one from them.

eldermike
10-02-2009, 10:05 AM
Look on the inside of the bottom limb tip and see if there is a short strip of felt on it, on one side. If not there then it's most likely an option, one you can add, if it's there someone forgot to put the rest of the stop system on the bow. That felt piece is half of the system. I hope this makes sense.

Parashooter
10-02-2009, 01:02 PM
Great answers! Thanks again guys! No felt, so I guess I'll be ordering one if it's not too outrageous.... otherwise I'll just fire up the lathe and make one (Hrm, maybe do that anyway, can make a nice stop with O-rings to cushion it - no felt that way)

Pete