PDA

View Full Version : Suggested arrow weight

Louisd33
11-02-2008, 08:44 AM
:confused:I just bought the 08 Firecat. I am totally new to archery so I don't plan on any hunting until next spring (turkey). I am going to spend the winter just getting to know my bow. My question is, what arrows would you recommend for hunting. My bow is set at 55 lbs.draw weight with a 28 in draw lenght but I will probably max out the draw weight (60 lbs ) after I get used to the bow. Also, would I use the same arrows for Turkey and Whitetail.

Thanks Louis

mlosey
11-02-2008, 09:40 AM
ummmm well with those settings i would suggest the Beman ICS 400 should be 8.4 gpi. thats what i shoot with a 67# weight with 28" and that is a petty light arrow for me so it should just right for that firecat. but i forgot to ask are you going to have a drop away rest or a whisker biscuit

bfisher
11-02-2008, 10:11 AM
For that draw weight and length, that cam style (hard), I would pick something with a 400 spine. Notice I said "400 spine". Whatever brand of arrow you choose be sure and check with different manufacturers charts to see what translates to a 400 spine. You can't go with what's amrked on the arrows all the time.

With Easton/Beman any carbon arrow marked with a 400 will work. With Carbon Express they're going to be marked 200, such as the CX 200. They also have their Maxima 250.

Blackhawk will correlate to a 2000 series.

Gold Tip will be marked 5575 in their XT and Expeditions. Then they have their Utralite series that are marked as UL400.