PDA

View Full Version : Bow for a new old guy

C Bailey
11-10-2008, 11:46 AM
So, I'm a relative newbie myself and my 70 year old dad has seen how fun archery can be and how generous the seasons are relative to rifle or muzzleloader and wants to give it a shot. Out of lack of time and willingness to search and learn and try all the other bow brands and the great experience I have had with customer service I have decided to just stick with Martin for myself and have suggested to my dad to do the same. He has a good Pro Series shop near him who have been very helpful and I think he is leaning toward a 50-pound Bengal.

Any thoughts out there on a good low-poundage bow for a new old guy? Everything I have read when I was getting into archery suggests he should look at longer ATA bows for a bit more forgiveness as he learns. The lack of selection of bows above roughly 33" suggests that this rule doesn't apply anymore. The Bengal seems like a good bow. But, I have a line on a brand new 50# Cougar 4 with Mpro cams for less than half the Bengal cost.

Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

alex
11-10-2008, 12:40 PM
I am thinking of buying the Cheetah.Have read a lot of good comments about this model (well,and some complains too-about the cams and strings) and i'm sure this is a good choice (price-quality).In the shop where i've found this bow i tried it and it was great -easy to draw,no recoil or torque.May be it will be proper for your father, but you must do some research of your own, at least in the internet.Good luck!

Montalaar
11-10-2008, 03:40 PM
Can he try the Cougar? I think this bow is worth it!

The Bengal is a sweet shooting machine. If you want to get a bow with slightly more A2A you could consider a look on the Warthog with the much more aggressive C.A.T.-Cam for 2009.

bfisher
11-10-2008, 04:56 PM