PDA

View Full Version : Keller Pendulum Question

Unregistered
11-19-2008, 08:52 PM
I just recently bought a Cheetah and was wandering if my old Keller pendulum sight is going to work okay with this bow. I have heard people say that the pendulums don't work as well with the new faster bows. Any replies are appreciated.

flytier17
11-20-2008, 07:30 AM
I have no experience with pendulum sights, but I can speculate as to the reason people might say this. The faster the bow, the flatter the trajectory. So the more drastic the swing of the pendulum, the more it compensates for speed. With a fast bow, shooting on a steep angle, the pin is raised farther than necessary, resulting in a low shot.

All you have to do is use a heavier arrow which is probably a good idea anyways. Also, if your DL is short or the draw weight is low, your bow will be slower.

Slap the pendulum on, and try it out. If it doesn't work, go get a pin sight like a Spot-Hogg or whatever you prefer. I like the Hoggs myself for their durability and performance. They have an unbeatable warrenty, and even their lower-end performance sights are made with the same quality and precision as the high-end models. They are easy to adjust as well.

alex
11-20-2008, 10:16 AM
Try mounting a red-dot sight-you can shoot more accurately and with both eyes open. I was sceptical about this, but when i started shooting my taiwanian bow with a red-dot i was amazed of the sniper shots :) .I'll put it on my new MOAB, but i still have no stabilizer and don't want to risk breaking the lenses.

Montalaar
11-23-2008, 05:47 AM
No lense will break without a stabilizer. I do not know why anyone is telling this.

A stabilizer is an option but not necessary. The ultra short hunting stabilizer do not even consume the shock that is produced during the shot.