PDA

View Full Version : C.A.T. cams

Louisd33
11-30-2008, 07:06 AM
Would these cams be considered soft, medium or hard cams.Easton arrow shaft selector requires cam type. I'm thinking hard cam but I'm new to all this.

bfisher
11-30-2008, 09:08 AM
Yes, they are considered a hard cam for the purpose you want. However I have a FireCat and if you keep the weight within reason (way less than 70#) you can get a decent draw cycle and really decent speed.

Louisd33
11-30-2008, 09:51 AM
Thanks for the info, My set up is maxed out @ around 60 lbs with a 28 dl. I'm torn between the Axis-N-Fused for weight and the Lightspeed for speed. both in the 400 spine. It will be an all purpose arrow, but must quallify as a good choice for hunting. Your opinion?

bfisher
11-30-2008, 01:46 PM
Honestly, I am a speed freak. I have a 27" draw, sometimes 26.5" depeding on the bow. I shoot a lot of 3D so have bows deicated to the venue. I have shot a lot of arrows over the years including aluminum, carbon, ACC's.

The ACC's are the oldest I have right now which I got about 13 years ago. I've shot several brands and grades of carbons, with the exception of Carbon Express. I have not shot any of Easton's arrows with the HIT system as these are always heavier arrows with an emphasis on hunting. So they don't fit my purpose.

I know everybody has their own choices, and I believe in buying good arrows---thus the ACCs. But for pure carbon I have to draw the line in price somewhere. There are getting to be so many gimmicks, IMO, that it's rediculous. Take the "weight forward" technology for example. What does it do? It adds more weight to the point end of the arrow and improves FOC. Yeah, and so does shooting a heavier head and/or lighter fletching.