PDA

View Full Version : Help Getting Cam inserts

Unregistered
12-04-2008, 03:41 PM
I have an older Martin Firecat M44 I bought used and love it. Except, the draw legnth is too long for me . I downloaded a PDF of the owners manual and it says I need Inserts for the cams right now there is a number 5 Where do i order these? and should I go higher or lower?
It needs about 2 to 3 inches shorter. All the shops around me say they cant help me, usually with an attitude like since its older its junk and not worth theyre time. I think the cam is a quick change energy cam it does not look like the other cam in the picture in the manual. Any help would be appreciated I am New to compound bows and this is one of three I have but my favorite. thanks

C

bfisher
12-04-2008, 08:35 PM
Sounds like you don't know what cam is on the bow. Can you post a picture? Need to know what cam is on the bow so we could possibly recommend a different module. A module is what you'll need, too. You have a number 5 on it now. Not always, but usually modules are numbered with shorter draw having a lower number. So in your case it would be a #2 or #3 module. But without knowing what cam we can't say which module.

Just a little info about the shops. And not meant to bash you, but so many people buy bows that are way too long on the draw. Really, it's true for about 80% of the people shooting today. It's not always the fault of individuals either. A lot of the bame falls with the shops themselves for not selling the right fitting equipment in the first place.

So in this respect you are not an isolated case.

new shooter
12-05-2008, 08:11 AM
Ok here is a picture of the bottom cam. Which type is this?

Thanks

bfisher
12-05-2008, 09:39 AM
OK. Very good picture. I'm not familar enough with older Martins to know what cam it is, but I'm sure one of the other guys here can help.