PDA

View Full Version : how to change draw length 08 cheetah



jedicocheese
01-13-2009, 06:54 AM
Hi all,
i just got a 'new used' 08 cheetah. The draw is currently sent to 28.5. reading thru the manaul it says to replace the mod with a higher numbered one to change the draw length and make it longer.

It doesn't say if i need to use a bow vice or anything like that. Can i just unscrew the screws and put in a new module? I was reading that i might have to back on the limbs to get to the screws.

Anything else i should know about? Like, will the string come flying off and is there anything i could break or ruin by changing the module?
Thanks
Jason

dbd870
01-13-2009, 07:40 AM
Never tried a Cheetah but the MPro's I have done can be changed without backing the limbs out. A bow vice is handy but I'm betting you could get by without it. One the bolts is no problem, the second one can be accessed by squeezing the string/cable enough to make the cam rotate so you can get to the other bolt.

jedicocheese
01-13-2009, 08:06 AM
sweet, thanks for the info
peace
jason

delmarduck
01-15-2009, 10:03 PM
Changed mine using a bow vice, and don't think you can without it.

tackle
01-19-2009, 07:32 PM
You don't need a press just unscrew the limb bolts till you can see them coming through the little black things they are screwed into don't no the names of them there will be just a little pressure on the m-pro cam but you can move it I put string twist in and put new mods in my cheetah this way. Hope this helps.

bfisher
01-20-2009, 05:19 AM
You don't need a press just unscrew the limb bolts till you can see them coming through the little black things they are screwed into don't no the names of them there will be just a little pressure on the m-pro cam but you can move it I put string twist in and put new mods in my cheetah this way. Hope this helps.

They're called barrel nuts.

Depending on the cam orientation all that is necessary is to squeeze the cable toward the riser, which rotates the cam a bit, allowing access to the hidden screw. If there is too much tension for you to hold then maybe just use a zip tie to hold the cable toward the riser while you make the moddule swap.