PDA

View Full Version : Ata



hotrod26
04-02-2009, 12:46 PM
When measuring the ATA of a bow is it always done with the bow's string and cables on, or can it be done with out string and cables and get the same results?

davydtune
04-02-2009, 12:56 PM
No string and cables must be on. It would measure a good bit longer if it wasn't under tension.;)

SandSquid
04-02-2009, 02:30 PM
When I'm measuring for making new cables and strings (such as when I'm replacing Mag limbs with Elite limbs and Dyna Cam with Furious-X or Nitrous-X, like when building a Tigress/Elite/Nitrous-X) I install the limbs and measure the limb bolts each backed out about 10 turns as my starting axle-to-axle length this gets me really close. That way there is enough "slack" in the system with the cables and strings installed that I can break the bow down for tinkering without a bow press, just by backing the bolts out 12 or so turns. But that's just my method, Your mileage may vary.

hotrod26
04-02-2009, 03:39 PM
I am getting ready to change my 07 Pantera from the M Pro cam to the Cat cam system with a set of 08 Slayer limbs. I am trying to determine what length of string and cables I will need. I have been told that the Pantera with the Slayer limbs and Cat cam will be the same ATA as the 09 Warthog. The Pantera is currently at 35" ATA and I was told that the Warthog with the Cat cam is also 35" ATA so they would be approximately the same. Any ideas if this would be close?