PDA

View Full Version : Changing Bow Strings



dmbruce
05-01-2009, 08:24 PM
I read on another Archery forum that most Martin bows the strings & cables can be changed w/o a bow press ? Is this correct & how is it done ?

SandSquid
05-01-2009, 08:44 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4b0O5HP-4eM

navydave
05-03-2009, 09:12 PM
I know most Martins and supposedly all the new ones, only one I have done it with is the wife's cheetah, but you just back the limb bolts out, do them evenly, several turns one side then the other and tighten back up the same. Just pay very close attention to the routing of the strings before you take them off and also measure stuff like how far from the d-loop the peep is etc, so you don't have to hard of time getting it back in the right spot. Also when you tension the bow back up make very very sure everything is back in the right groove and then do it again before you draw the bow the first time. Take pictures of everything if you have a digital camera so you have a reference.