PDA

View Full Version : 09 cheetah limb adjustment



skoty69
05-28-2009, 03:58 AM
I just got my bow a week ago, and i have 60lbs limbs, from the factory they were at 65lbs, and the screws still had adjustment to go higher. The guy at the local archery shop turned them 2 turns out i believe. Is it safe just to crank the limbs in until the screw stops? Conversely, are there any problems with shooting a bow at the bottom of the adjustment range? I'm new to this sport and cant keep drawing 70lbs or more and get any real amount of practice time. Should i seek out 50lbs limbs instead? i was under the impression that if i ordered a 60lb max bow the max would be 60lbs and the min about 45lbs, is my the only bow that is too high? The limbs read 3L, what is the poundage for these limbs?

Montalaar
05-28-2009, 05:12 AM
Im a not sure what the 60lbs rating should be but if you order a bow with 60lbs maximum draw weight your draw weight range should be 45 - 60lbs.

If you turn the limb screw 5 turns out and you get more than around 45 to 47 lbs you may have the wrong limbs. Maybe you will measure the bows ata and bh and check if it meets the factory specs.

flytier17
05-28-2009, 06:38 PM
If you ordered a 60lb bow, it should bottom no more than 62-64lbs. you may have the wrong limbs on your bow.

No problem with shooting at the bottom end of the range, but you will have an almost negligible decrease of effeciency. Basically, if you shot 2 bows with identical specs but one was backed off 15lbs and the other was bottomed, the bottomed bow might have 3 fps more.

Nothing wrong with bottoming your limbs either, but the poundage might be around 70, which is not what you want from what I understand.

simon has a good suggestion. Check the specs. its unlikely the factory would have drastically screwed the strings up, but not impossible. its more likely they sent you the wrong limbs, or the proshop didn't order correctly.

Alec

skoty69
05-29-2009, 04:04 AM
i dont know what ata is? axle to axle? and bh? today i cranked then limbs down 2full turns it shoots as fast as my friends pse bowmadness set at 60 if not faster. there is a noticeable difference in sound though. the more i crank the limbs the quieter it gets. i"ll have the limbs checked again, and are you guys suggesting that the string length might be off?? i am really new to archery so i dont know the "terms" and lots of other things about archery. i do know that today i smoked a bow twice the price and was very happy with my groups at 60 yards, about a dinner plate size group. i was just hoping to hit the bail and not lose arrows!! with all my shooting faults, the bow, i believe came through and degraded my coworkers pride. we shoot for slurpees at lunch and so far im not shelling out for 7-11!!

bfisher
05-29-2009, 06:51 AM
ATA (A2A) is axle to axle length. You measure with a tape, simple as that. Brace height is the distance from the string to the deepest part of the grip, at rest, not drawn. Measure these and see how they compare to what the factory says they should be. They should be close, but don't have to be right on. If the A2A is short and the brace height is taller then it's possible that the string/cable is a little short or they have been twisted up too much, which puts more preload on the limbs.

It doesn't happen often, but it's possible the limbs were mismarked at the factory. Frankly, if you want a bow that maxes at 60# then that's what you should get. Most bows go a pound or two higher, but that's about it.

If the specs are close and you still want a bow maxing at 60# then I'd take it back to the dealer and have him contact Martin for new limbs.

It is not necessary to shoot a bow maxed out, but as you are finding they shoot a bit more quiet when cranked to the upper end of the weight range. This is due mainly to the fact that the string and cable system is tighter. Also, as mentioned, pound for pound the bow will shoot a bit faster, but not appreciably so, a couple fps.

skoty69
05-29-2009, 11:02 PM
ata=30 and bh= is 7 1/4 and thats the specs. so i guess i may have incorrect limbs. so far i havent had any problems with the draw weight so far i think im getting stronger so the weight isnt a problem anymore. i won our little shop tourney again today. against a hoyt and a pse. im happy with it!! im gonna have to get it measured again though now that ive turned it up! i might have to get new arrows.

navydave
05-30-2009, 01:56 AM
Did your bow come with the ccs, if it did, it will top out higher than the listed 60lbs. The generic limbs for 60lbs is 3h if you have 3l, I think that designates that the bow has stronger limbs to make up for the extra pre-load that the CCS places on the bow limbs. My gals cheetah came with the CCS and it maxes out at about 55lbs vice 50 the limbs say.

flytier17
05-30-2009, 04:36 AM
A 3L will be a weaker limb than a 3H. 6lbs weaker.

3H is not the generic 60lb limb. There is none. every cam system and limb preload has differing stresses involved, thus requiring idfferent resistence in the limb to provide a psecific poundage. a Firecat may use a 4M, while a Warthog may use a 6L, and the peak weight may be the same due to the different load and profile of the limbs. Switching from a "B" Nitrous cam to a "C" Nitrous cam results in a need for a limb 2 #'s higher (10lbs), because of the different cams.

Alec

navydave
05-30-2009, 11:13 AM
A 3L will be a weaker limb than a 3H. 6lbs weaker.

3H is not the generic 60lb limb. There is none. every cam system and limb preload has differing stresses involved, thus requiring idfferent resistence in the limb to provide a psecific poundage. a Firecat may use a 4M, while a Warthog may use a 6L, and the peak weight may be the same due to the different load and profile of the limbs. Switching from a "B" Nitrous cam to a "C" Nitrous cam results in a need for a limb 2 #'s higher (10lbs), because of the different cams.

Alec

if it'snot the generic limb for a 60lb cheetah, then why is that the limb listed on the specs chart for a 60lb cheeta here http://www.martinarchery.com/tech2009.php

skoty69
05-31-2009, 12:06 AM
i dont have a ccs, i wanted one but was reading somewhere else on this forum that there was a need for longer string/cables and what not to do it. i was under the impression that the mod was a simple bolt on. anyone do this mod without having to modify anything else?? i have two more full turns on the limb bolts to bottom out, and its at 65lbs already. i just lengthened the draw an inch to try it out it feels a little more comfortable but now i have to have the shop retie my peep after i moved it. i have to learn how to serve the string and tie it myself. i bought 500 soine shafts so i may need to buy new shafts right.

hunter
05-31-2009, 04:56 AM
skoty69, What # and letter are on the side of the limb ? you should be able to see it by the limb bolt on the edge of the limb...Also, there should be a sticker on bottom limb ...saying 45-60....or 55-70 ...is there one there?

60lbs should be a 4m and the 70lb a 6m ..I am pretty sure

And yes if you up the pounds of pull and make the draw length longer you may need new arrows ...

skoty69
05-31-2009, 01:43 PM
my limbs have 3L written on them and the sticker has 45-60# printed. ok so now im wondering about the limbs and why it the draw weight is so high. i thought it was normal to be higher but all the replies say otherwise.

flytier17
06-01-2009, 05:29 PM
You're right, the 3h is the generic limb for the cheetah. I thought you were refferring to all 60lb. martin bows. My bad, sorry.

Alec

bfisher
06-01-2009, 05:37 PM
How about we use the term "designated limb" instead of generic. Generic just sounds so "cheap" and there is nothing cheap about any of the limbs. A Gold series bow uses the same limbs as a Pro series bow and so forth.

hunter
06-01-2009, 09:37 PM
A 3L should be about 3 pounds lighter then the 3H ..but, the way it worked for most martin bows at least in the past was the limbs you are calling designated for say ...60lbs or 70lbs ...always had a M behind the # . it is like this.. L =low m=med H=high and these have a few pounds difference up or down ..and I have a set of cheetah limbs setting right here that are 4m and say 45-60 ..Now, they are a set of 07s ...Maybe some thing changed ...but, I would say your bow should not be a 70lb bow ...could it be a mis-print on the limbs? I have no clue there ..I hope some one else will clear this up for sure ...

bfisher
06-02-2009, 05:17 PM
A 3L should be about 3 pounds lighter then the 3H ..but, the way it worked for most martin bows at least in the past was the limbs you are calling designated for say ...60lbs or 70lbs ...always had a M behind the # . it is like this.. L =low m=med H=high and these have a few pounds difference up or down ..and I have a set of cheetah limbs setting right here that are 4m and say 45-60 ..Now, they are a set of 07s ...Maybe some thing changed ...but, I would say your bow should not be a 70lb bow ...could it be a mis-print on the limbs? I have no clue there ..I hope some one else will clear this up for sure ...

That would be my educated guess, too. Mismarked limbs. Question is, what is skoty going to do about it? I feel sure Martin would swap them if Joel is contacted.

flytier17
06-02-2009, 06:35 PM
How about we use the term "designated limb" instead of generic. Generic just sounds so "cheap" and there is nothing cheap about any of the limbs. A Gold series bow uses the same limbs as a Pro series bow and so forth.

I agree. Designated sounds good too me.

Alec

skoty69
06-02-2009, 07:07 PM
i have been shooting pretty dam good with how it is and have been happy with how the bow is performing. i am not sure if i would want to change the limbs. the concern was with the vibration a noise and that seems to have been nulled by cranking the limbs down. thanks for all your help guys!!