PDA

View Full Version : Down Cable wedging in between CCS Rollers

recondoc
07-31-2009, 12:21 PM
Howdy folks,
I picked up my new Alien X 45-60 two weeks ago and have been mighty pleased with it.
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x137/recondocb/DSCN0125.jpg
I started shooting it with a QAD Pro Hunter rest. A few days ago, my arrows (2 in a row) suddenly went about 2 feet high and 20 yards. When I checked out my bow, I found the down cable wedged in between the CCS rollers.
I popped it back out, swapped rests to a Muzzy X-Celerator and went back to shooting. Today it did it again! With a full pass through on my back fence to boot.
Here's what it looked like:
http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x137/recondocb/DSCN0138.jpg

http://i187.photobucket.com/albums/x137/recondocb/DSCN0137.jpg

I was originally going to get the new MOAB in black but my Wife convinced me to spend the extra money and go all the way for the best bow Martin/Rytera makes. (Yes, I do love her a lot. :) ) Now I'm wondering if I made the right choice.
I've been shooting and hunting with Martin bows for several years now and have never had one do anything other than perform flawlessly. Vision Longbow, Dreamcatcher, Jaguar and Cheetah have never failed me. Now I'm really nervous.
Any ideas on a fix? No Techs available at Martin until Monday so the weekend 3D match seems to be canceled for me. I'm really worried about shooting this bow until I have more information.

Specs:
Alien X 45-60 set to #53 Drawing 29"+ 3/4" loop.
29" Beman Blackmax 400s
FOBs
100gr Field tips
Doc

bfisher
07-31-2009, 12:53 PM
Real quick. Looks like there's too much play between the rollers. Break the bow down and remove the string and cable from the roller assembly. See how much slop there is between the rollers and the bracket. There should little to no play. If there is you can use nylon spacer(s) between the bracket and the rollers.

Is this plain enough?