PDA

View Full Version : Cheetah - Major string noise

jbennett
09-14-2009, 06:47 PM
I am new to the Tech Forum but a long time Martin owner, I have had a Jaguar for years. I loved the bow but it was time to upgrade. I really like the Cheetah but I am having terrible string vibration. I have installed all the anti vibration (sims) that I am willing to put on (and it's just about everything they sell). Any help would be greatly appreciated I have 11 days till the season opens.

alex
09-15-2009, 08:35 AM
Try an STS - i think that the Cheetah accepts it.

davydtune
09-15-2009, 08:45 AM
Make sure the cam orientation is right. Where the string comes off the cam there should only be 3/8" to 1/2" of the string track showing.

Also I used the Sims string leeches for awhile and while they did quiet the bow, they don't last very long. I've went back to good old cat whiskers in conjunction with an STS and all my rigs are super quiet.

jbennett
09-15-2009, 10:14 AM
do you have a picture of this so I know exactly what I am looking for.

Thanks

davydtune
09-15-2009, 11:00 AM
Try this. I posted this to another thread. The cam in the pic is out of orientation. The red arrow denotes about where the string should come off them cam. This is the M-Pro2 cam but the the original will be the same way. Where the string groove stops to where the string comes off the cam, that is where the 3/8" to 1/2" comes in.

http://www.martinarchery.com/mtechforum/showthread.php?t=4995

jbennett
09-15-2009, 11:53 AM
It appears that I have too little, so I should untwist the string maybe twice and see where I am at?

davydtune
09-15-2009, 11:56 AM
No you need to adjust twist or untwist the cable not the string. When you say too little do you me not enough groove showing? If that's the case you'll need to untwist the cable. Just go a little at a time. I stick with on half turn. It usually don't take too much.

jpermenter
09-15-2009, 01:11 PM