PDA

View Full Version : Scepter 3 elite specs question

kwilliams
09-23-2009, 07:27 PM
I'm new to archery this year and picked up a Scepter 3 elite, Nitrous X cams in shoot-through configuration.

According to the sticker on my bow, the max draw weight is supposedly 50 pounds, but the archery shop I went to checked it and it was at 53 pounds. The bolts are nowhere near all the way in, and in fact may be out almost as far as they should safely go (according to a shop tech).

The original draw length was 27" but it's now at 30", the maximum length for the A cam on it.

I measured the brace height at 8" from the string to the grip, which appears a little short (should be 8-3/8" according to specs). Measuring from a string stretched tightly axle-to-axle I get a brace height of 7".

I checked the tiller, and it appears virtually identical top and bottom, within my measuring error limits.

Now the curious part, which may be by design or not. The distance along my shooting string from the nock point to the bottom cam is 3-1/4" longer than the distance from the nock point to the top cam.

Is it by design to have the nock point be that dramatically higher? As a completely uninformed archer, I would have expected the nock point to be somewhere near the center of the string, not 3 inches above the center point.

With my brace height being a little shorter than spec and my draw weight higher than is supposed to be possible with the bolts tightened all the way, is there a problem with my bow that would merit having it carefully examined by a Martin tech?

Opinions? Advice? I'm completely green to all this stuff, so any advice would be extremely helpful!

Thanks!

bfisher
09-23-2009, 08:33 PM
Let me answer a couple things and I'm going to bed.