PDA

View Full Version : Need some on string lengths



RogerSr
12-19-2009, 04:41 PM
I have a Scepter II with Fury X cams, that I'm converting to Nitrous A cams,
and need some help with string and cable lengths, as near as I can guess the string is 55.5" and the cables are 44.75", as the Scepter II was not offered with Nitrous cams I'm guessing, could use some help!

SandSquid
12-19-2009, 05:20 PM
For Nitrous cams


Shoot String length:
A Cams = ATA + 10.5"
B cams = ATA+ 13.5"
C cams = ATA + 19"

Cable length = ATA + 1.5"
(Same for A, B & C)

scepterman30x
12-19-2009, 08:48 PM
For Nitrous cams


Shoot String length:
A Cams = ATA = 10.5"
B cams = ATA+ 13.5"
C cams = ATA + 19"

Cable length = ATA + 1.5"
(Same for A, B & C)

You might want to rethink how you post info...no offense. Just for example the A cam example would be 53.5" long, about 1.5" short. The 10.5" would however be what you would add to the cable length. Also its just my opinion but I get an better initial cam orientation when you make the string length 10.75" longer than cable for the A's, and 13.75" longer than cable for the B's.

SandSquid
12-19-2009, 09:02 PM
You might want to rethink how you post info...no offense.

good catch, I fixed it from "=" to "+"



I get an better initial cam orientation when you make the string length 10.75" longer than cable for the A's, and 13.75" longer than cable for the B's.

thanks I'll try that on my next set!

scepterman30x
12-19-2009, 09:10 PM
good catch, I fixed it from "=" to "+"

thanks I'll try that on my next set!

Thats not the issue. The issue is the A/A + 10.5" for instance is still going to be lacking about 1.5" for the correct string length.

RogerSr
12-19-2009, 10:37 PM
Ok, then it's shooting string 55.25", cables 44.5". thanks to Scepterman30x,
I was .25" long on both string & cables.

scepterman30x
12-20-2009, 11:55 AM
Correct... however you can use the specs you stated but your A/A will be a little on the long side.

RogerSr
12-20-2009, 12:42 PM
Correct... however you can use the specs you stated but your A/A will be a little on the long side.

say if I use the longer specs, won't that make the draw weight lower?

scepterman30x
12-20-2009, 03:58 PM
From my experience just a tad but not enough to make much of a difference.