PDA

View Full Version : Signal Fuzion Cam Martin Phantom

greaver17
12-24-2009, 11:52 AM
I have a question for anyone who might be able to help. I have a Martin Phantom Signal Fuzion Cam bow. I don't know the exact year but I think it's a 2001 or 2002. I was shooting it this fall sighting it in when the string hit my arm and snapped the string when I released it. I bought a new string from Martin and I picked up a portable bow press to put the string back on. Before I do this I was just wondering what the chances would be that there is damage to the bow and if I should attempt to do this myself or have a professional put the new one on. I'm a little concerned that maybe the bow might break when I try to press the bow myself because I don't know if the bow could be damaged from snapping back or not.

Also if anyone has a good how to guide on restringing a single cam bow that would be awesome as I have never done this before. I want to try and do it myself as I just started getting serious into bow hunting and I want to learn as much about it as I can.

Thanks for any info in advanced!

alex
12-24-2009, 03:26 PM
First of all you don't need a bowpress for the Martin bows - you just turn the limb bolts till your string and cable are loose. You must check and remember the position of the strings on the cams or better take a picture of them. There's a good site - bowtuningtips.com or you can also see Youtube about string changing. Just inspect carefully the bow (limbs) for any damage before doing it.

greaver17
12-24-2009, 03:40 PM
Oh I did not know that... thanks for the advise. However, I didn't even think to take a picture of the cams before. When the string snapped everything was just dangling there so I took it off. That's my rookie mistake.

I'll try just loosening it and figure it out from there. Thanks.

alex
12-24-2009, 04:00 PM