PDA

View Full Version : Think I messed up and need some help

Dark Halo
12-24-2009, 01:22 PM
I got a ccs and sts upgrade kit for my 09 cheetah for Christmas and tried to install it myself, this was problem no.1. I do have a rachet style bow press but I have never worked on one before. The only reason I tried it my self is I thought it couldnt be to bad and it is hard to find someone in my area to do bow work with out charging an arm and a leg. The problem is when I release the pressure there is slack in the cable which makes me think I have it on wrong. Does anyone know how to properly string this bow and do you have any idea what I am doing wrong? Photos would be a great help.

Dark Halo
12-24-2009, 03:40 PM
I was also going to add if I end up needing a new string from all this what is recommended?

brushrat
12-24-2009, 05:45 PM
I got a ccs and sts upgrade kit for my 09 cheetah for Christmas and tried to install it myself, this was problem no.1. I do have a rachet style bow press but I have never worked on one before. The only reason I tried it my self is I thought it couldnt be to bad and it is hard to find someone in my area to do bow work with out charging an arm and a leg. The problem is when I release the pressure there is slack in the cable which makes me think I have it on wrong. Does anyone know how to properly string this bow and do you have any idea what I am doing wrong? Photos would be a great help.

merry xmas...nice present. If you go on line to "martinarchery.com" and get on the 09 bow manuals there is a diagram that shows exactly how the string and cable are to be installed. Your string is probably ok if it doesn't have broken strands.

Several suppliers for replacement strings. personal preferance for sure. What ever you get you might consider extra serving around the area of the cam, the idler and the CCs. good luck:)

RobD
12-24-2009, 06:13 PM
Cool Christmas Present,That should give u some more speed ,and make your draw and release much smother.