PDA

View Full Version : 2010 shadowcat



zoogie@verizon.net
01-20-2010, 02:37 AM
will I be able to get 300fps out of a 60lb,30" shadowcat with a 305gr arrow with just a loop and peep?

bfisher
01-20-2010, 07:58 AM
Considering the bow's IBO rating of 320-325 I would be surprised if you didn't get something near 315 fps, so 300 should be quite doable. Hope this helps.

I had a 2004 Slayr with Nitrous cams with an identical IBO rating and set up at 5 gr/lb I could get 308 fps out of it set for 27.5" draw and 53#. At 27" draw it did 299 fps. Quite surprising to me considering the draw length.

bcriner
01-21-2010, 03:52 AM
IBO on the new model is 315FPS. Yes, you will be able to get that speed with that setup.

zoogie@verizon.net
01-23-2010, 04:58 AM
IBO on the new model is 315FPS. Yes, you will be able to get that speed with that setup.

I didn't know it lost 10fps,I'm not liking that!

Montalaar
01-23-2010, 05:33 AM
A target bow has no need for speed over 315fps.

zoogie@verizon.net
01-23-2010, 08:33 AM
A target bow has no need for speed over 315fps.

I'm not looking for a lot of speed,but I'm looking to be around 300fps for 3d.you will probably lose about 6fps shooting 60lbs and some for the loop and peep.so I figure I'm going to be real close.

Montalaar
01-23-2010, 08:43 AM
I guess i will not have this problem with my 32" draw...

zoogie@verizon.net
01-23-2010, 08:48 AM
I guess i will not have this problem with my 32" draw...

32" you should get 3D speed out of a recurve!!!!!!

Montalaar
01-23-2010, 08:52 AM
That might be possible. But then i would like to have some possibilities to shoot 3D here. No way.

bfisher
01-24-2010, 12:23 PM
IBO on the new model is 315FPS. Yes, you will be able to get that speed with that setup.

Where did you get this figure? I got mine directly from Martin's 2010 catalog, which is also on their website.

bcriner
01-25-2010, 10:27 AM
The catalog and website are not updated. This is the actual IBO....315FPS

XSpot
01-25-2010, 09:03 PM
I was told today it was 315 to 320 only 1/4 differant brace hight axle to axle did not change anything

Montalaar
01-25-2010, 10:09 PM
I was told today it was 315 to 320 only 1/4 differant brace hight axle to axle did not change anything

That incorrect. They changed the AtA from 39" to 41.5"

XSpot
01-26-2010, 07:43 AM
u did not understand Lets try again 1/4 brace height differance made the bow slower. The axle to axle change was not enough to change speed.

Montalaar
01-26-2010, 09:30 AM
Well...

I found your sentence to be a bit confusing. And although i know what you meant by now i do not think that this is what i would read...

The interesting thing is that my pro series owner wrote me a mail that only the AtA changed. BH, speed and so on would stay approx the same.

XSpot
01-26-2010, 06:56 PM
I just got home from my dealer and picked up my bow today I will post my speeds in a day or two.

SandSquid
01-26-2010, 07:24 PM
Our Pro Staff Shooter got his in today and was tweaking and tuning it.
WOW it is SILENT, my recurve made more noise than his new ShadowCat whne we were shooting side-by-side. all I head was the click of his release and the thwack of the arrow in the bale.

bfisher
01-27-2010, 05:37 AM
OK, so I would not argue that the increase in the A2A might drop the speed 10 fps, but considering the geometry of the bow I would not let it concern me too much. I'll gladly concede those extra 10 fps till I see some real world figures, which I'm sure XSpot will put up for us.

Montalaar
01-28-2010, 08:59 AM
So what do you think about a Shadowcat in colorado copper...? :)

Oh, and Barry, do you have a facebook account? or alex? I am looking for people to add that i really know.... maybe alec has one?

alex
01-28-2010, 09:55 AM
Sorry Simon, no account in facebook, don't like it. Youtube is more then enough for me :)

bfisher
01-28-2010, 06:04 PM
Yes Simon. I'm on Facebook simply because I got coerced into it. I don't get on it much though. I'm too busy, what with 4 other archery forums, 4 scuba diving forums and 3 underwater video forums. Then there's my part time job, shooting, and helping my kids with their houses. Not to mention that I have a granddaughter that I just adore so have to see her at least once a week.

I honestly don't know where I get all the time. Retirement isn't all it's cracked up to be.

Montalaar
01-28-2010, 11:02 PM
Yes Simon. I'm on Facebook simply because I got coerced into it. I don't get on it much though.

"Excellent" ;)


I'm too busy, what with 4 other archery forums, 4 scuba diving forums and 3 underwater video forums. Then there's my part time job, shooting, and helping my kids with their houses. Not to mention that I have a granddaughter that I just adore so have to see her at least once a week.

I honestly don't know where I get all the time. Retirement isn't all it's cracked up to be.

So that is no reason to not add you as a friend. Now i just need to find you...