PDA

View Full Version : Firecat TR-1 or TR-2

mtnguy75
06-06-2010, 08:20 PM
Well first off id just like to say im new here and have spent the last few hours cruising the forums and checking the place out. Ive been a bowhunter most of my life, when life doesnt get in the way any how ;). I have been shooting a Browning the last few years but owned Martins before that going back to when i started shooting compounds when i was 15. That ole Lynx is still hanging in the shed.......

Im looking to step back into a Martin bow and have kind of narrowed it down to a Firecat. Ive read that theve had some limb problems off and on and was wondering if any could fill me in on that, frequency of occurance, any explosions etc...... also wondering which one to get? I shoot a single cam Browning now with a 30.5" 2317 XX78 at 70#. Im also thinking of amaking the plunge to carbons or FMJ's at the very least. Any recomendations would be greatly appreciated and thanks in advance.................

Destroyer
06-06-2010, 08:36 PM
Im also thinking of amaking the plunge to carbons or FMJ's at the very least.

Actually, I'm thinking of going back to alloy's atm. Heavier shaft, quieter, no dangerous carbon fibers, longer lasting bow maybe. ;)

mtnguy75
06-06-2010, 08:37 PM
Exact reason ive never shot um....now im thinking again??? ;)

Destroyer
06-06-2010, 09:00 PM
:D

I'm currently using powerflight 340's 444 grains out of my Pantera @ 68lbs. I figure I can go to 2315's with blazers, carbon insert & 100 grain arrows for approx 500 grains. Loose maybe 10fps and get some real benefits.

I do have 2 dozen carbons to use up first!

Would prefer the TR2 but not sure now. If I had a local Martin dealer near by (which I don't), I would still go with the TR2. I probably won't buy a single cam bow again.

alex
06-07-2010, 02:11 AM