PDA

View Full Version : what is martins best finger shooting compound

ezbite
07-06-2010, 02:52 PM
ok guys, ive went back to my roots. i started shooting a martin cougar without sights and with a 3 finger tab over 25 years ago, over the years ive advanced my shooting methods as the methods have improved. sights, releases, carbon arrows, bla bla bla. a few weeks ago i took the sights and d-loop off my cheetah and got very good at hitting a 20 oz pepsi bottle. im using a 3 finger glove, not a tab because im hitting better with the glove. the tab pinches more than the glove. i even took it out and got my limit of ohio frogs last week. a few days ago i did the same thing to my firecat, off with the sight and d-loop. i can consistantly hit a paper plate at 20 yards after only a few weeks of practice. i have decided to deer hunt like this this year. i have an alien i want to keep set up because it shooting better than ever and i dont want to mess with it because it took me so long to get it this way. besides that the ata isnt much different than my firecat so im sure i'll still be getting finger pinch, which brings me to my reason for this thread. i need a recommendation for a martin bow that has a longer ata to help ease the finger pinch im getting now. i turned my cheetah down to 40 so its not too bad, but that firecat is at 60 and killing my fingers after about 16 shots. i tried putting 5 xtra nocks on the cheetah to relieve the pinch but all it did was make it sound like a bass guitar.lol. thanks for any and all replys

Robert58
07-06-2010, 03:45 PM
I shoot a Scepter II with Nitrous A cams 43-3/8 ATA. But the new Shadowcat is close because of the larger diameter cams. Finger pinch is determined by the distance from the top of the top cam to the bottom of the bottom cam at full draw not nessecerily the ATA.

Robert

bowhunter2232
07-06-2010, 03:58 PM
I shoot a new shawdowcat with fingers it was great until about 1 hr ago when the top limb broke.

Destroyer