PDA

View Full Version : pro shop/ broad head and vanes

J758
09-24-2010, 08:22 AM
Hey guys! I went and got my broad heads. Magnus 2 blades. I'm still new to our sport. Been shootin almost a year before I ever put any thought into it. I shoot 4 inch vanes. I got some free 2 inch blazer vanes. To try out. Cause I do have fairly light arrows. I'm not gonna hunt with them. Cause I'm set up how I wanna be but I did have a old arrow so I fletched it to try out. Honestly. What's the difference. Does anyone think 2 inch vanes are better than 4 and if so for what reason? Only thing different I ever do is play with arroiw weight and keep my sights dialed for my hunting weight. Ok. Enough said bout that, secondly. My friend swears up and down BH must be inline with fletchin. I think this is silly and a matter of prefrence. Also I plan to get a new string after season. Any one got any advice?

dragonsfire311
09-24-2010, 12:25 PM
depends on a lot of factors. I shoot 100 gr Crimson Talon XT broadheads which mid atlantic archery states they are best used with 3 inch fletchings ( due to the spin stabalization generated from the curved blades) although they will work with any length. I use 4 inch and they fly fine however I shoot heavy alum arrows to hunt with. BH alined with fletch is good but I've never had any adverse effects from it not being so.

Destroyer
09-24-2010, 07:11 PM
Does anyone think 2 inch vanes are better than 4 and if so for what reason?

The big plus for the 2" vanes is they're shorter - less time for contact with rest, catches less cross wind, lighter so a few faster fps. They increase your arrows FOC (meh imho) and I find them easier to fletch as well. Plus they look :cool:.

Bad points are there a higher profile so you can have clearance issues with the rest, cables,etc. They can be noisy sometimes which is very bad for hunting. I don't think they stabilize a 2 blade as well as a 4" vane, imho.

I'm using 4" AAE Elites atm.

must be inline with fletchin