PDA

View Full Version : Troubled about my Peep Sight

lengx
09-26-2010, 10:33 PM
Hi, I've been shooting a 2000 Martin Jaguar bow for a couple of years now. I've been having a hard time trying to match up my peep sight with my sight. The peep sight is covering more than just the outer lip of my sight when I'm at full draw. what should i do?

and Because the draw length is a little short for me which is at 27" right now, i was wondering if i could change the draw length just a little bit to get my peep sight to match the outer circle of my sight. Need help ASAP. thanks

Montalaar
09-26-2010, 11:16 PM
Do NOT change your draw length if it fits you at this time.

There are many different peeps with different sizes. If you see not enough you should try a peep with a larger drilled hole.

alex
09-27-2010, 06:36 AM
\ the draw length is a little short for me which is at 27" right now, i was wondering if i could change the draw length just a little bit to get my peep sight to match the outer circle of my sight

If the DW is really short now you can change it, but keep in mind that it's better to have a little shorter DW then a little longer. If you don't want to buy a new peep you can always drill a little more the present one.

bfisher
09-27-2010, 07:51 AM
As the two learned posters above have stated, you can change to a larger peep if you use a tubeless peep such as a Fletcher True Peep. However, if you are using a peep with a tube aligner then it can be drilled out to a larger size, but please remove it from the string to do so. More than one string has been damaged by an errant drill bit.

Bear in mind that although popular these days it is not absolutely necessary to have a peep that encircles the sight guard. Actually it is better for accuracyto have the smallest peep you can see through, but there is the consideration that for a hunting setup you want a larger peep to pass more light through during those hours before sunup and after sundown.