PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning Strings

FireHawk Owner
10-21-2010, 01:25 PM
I was wondering, What and how do you clean your strings. My string is starting to looks faded in spots. And looks like theres a lot of old wax on it. Is there any way to get all the old wax off, so I can put new wax on the strings, not the old wax.

bfisher
10-21-2010, 01:49 PM
There are several brands of string cleaning and conditioning kits. One is made by Scorpion Venom. Another by Winner's Choice. Check with www.lancasterarchery.com. Page 157 in their catalog.

Which is better? Couldn't tell ya. Never used either. I could tell you this. If you can physically see old wax than you are waxing too much and too often. I perosnally only wax my strings two or three times a year and I shoot, maybe, 5000 shots each year. Of course I take very good care of my bows. If they are not being shot they are in a case.

Which wax do I use? Simple old ML6 made by BCY. I've been using the same tube of wax for about 6 years now. There is other stuff out and each has it's fans. I just can't see spending money for something else just because it's new on the market.

Here's a trick that you can use. When you wax your string aplly it from the tube. Then briskly rub in using your thumb and index finger or a small piece of leather. This is called burnishing. The little bit of heat made from friction melts the wax just enough to helpit penetrate the strands. Then take a 12" to 15" piece of dental floss and make a complete loop around the string. Pull the loop along the length of the string and any way that comes off is just excess. The rub the string again to smooth everything out. You're done.

Hutch~n~Son Archery
10-21-2010, 01:55 PM