PDA

View Full Version : 2010 Bengal: How hard is it to change draw length?



Stéphane
12-07-2010, 01:58 PM
I was wondering if it is something I can do myself, or do I need a bow press? Or is it just moving the stopper?

Thanks,

SG

Hutch~n~Son Archery
12-07-2010, 02:09 PM
Stéphane, it is not necessary to have a bow press. And yes you can do it your self. Back both limb bolts out, but do them equally. Two turns for one two turns for the other. Till you can see the end in the barrel nut on the side. Or till the string is loose. The module can be changed easily at this point.
Hutch

Hutch~n~Son Archery
12-07-2010, 02:17 PM
Also Stéphane your draw stop will need to be adjusted. Loosen it lightly draw back the bow with the help of another person have them adjust it to the limb.
HUTCH

Stéphane
12-07-2010, 02:44 PM
Thanks Hutch, I might just give it a try. The reason I want to change it is because when I draw, I need to move my head forward to hook my thumb underneath my earlobe. I was hoping to just move the stopper would be enough, but he you say I need to replace the module, then so be it.

Hutch~n~Son Archery
12-07-2010, 03:46 PM
Stéphane, did you get modules with your Bengal and what is the # of the one you have in your Bengal?
Hutch

Stéphane
12-07-2010, 04:40 PM
Stéphane, did you get modules with your Bengal and what is the # of the one you have in your Bengal?
Hutch
Yes, it's #3. I gotta say, though, looking at them doesn't help with understanding the system.

Hutch~n~Son Archery
12-07-2010, 04:49 PM
Stéphane, is your draw stop all the way to the top of the cam or bottom or in the middle some where?. You might not have to change your module, if you have some adjustment.
According to the chart your a f3 @27' draw.
Bengal f1/ 25"/ f2 26" /f3 27" /f4 28"/ f5 29"/ f6 29.5"/ f7 30"
HUTCH

Stéphane
12-07-2010, 05:03 PM
Stéphane, is your draw stop all the way to the top of the cam or bottom or in the middle some where?. You might not have to change your module, if you have some adjustment.
According to the chart your a f3 @27' draw.
Bengal f1/ 25"/ f2 26" /f3 27" /f4 28"/ f5 29"/ f6 29.5"/ f7 30"
HUTCH

Here's a picture of my stopper. http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc77/yol68/DSC00397.jpg

I thought I was 26.5 draw length, but because I had to bring my head forward after I drew the bow made me question myself too. Am I doing something wrong?

I am amazed how grouped my shots are with so little practice. Very forgiving those releases, aren't they.

Hutch~n~Son Archery
12-07-2010, 05:11 PM
Stéphane, you're smart the picture says it all. All you have to do it is pull the boot off your draw stop, than loosen the bolt. Move it towards the + sign a little at a time until it is comfortable at full draw.
Hutch

Hutch~n~Son Archery
12-07-2010, 05:16 PM
Stéphane, by the way the manual shows how to do this. If you don't have one go to the web site and down load
Hutch

Stéphane
12-07-2010, 05:29 PM
Stéphane, by the way the manual shows how to do this. If you don't have one go to the web site and down load
Hutch

Not mine. Thanks, I'll try with the stopper first and see how it goes. Very much appreciated. I owe you a beer.

SG

Hutch~n~Son Archery
12-07-2010, 05:39 PM
Stéphane, By the photo it looks like the draw stop is less then half way, if it was in the middle than it would be 26.5'.
Hutch

ElkSlayer
12-08-2010, 10:53 AM
Stéphane did you get it set.. so your not moving your head foward.
An To Hucth very nice info there guy / heck even i know how to ajust it now and dont even own 1 :D
Hows that peep tube treating you Stéphane.. in an earler post your were told how to back off limbs to ajust your mod ...you can do the same to swap out that peep your self when your ready too ;) is curent one served in or is it wraped, just top an bottom that slide ?

justin
12-08-2010, 03:34 PM
the draw stop will give you alot of draw length adjustmemt, but also affects letoff. if you prefer a higher holding weight, id start by putting the next higher module in, or if adjustment is minor you may be ok just moving your stop a little. my cheetah with the f7 mod in and the stopper on the minus side feels really short. shorter than the f6 mod with the stop on the plus side all of the way. ........... its a matter of feel, and its best to adjust so you are comfortable, and steady. i seem to preferthe lighter letoff....

Hutch~n~Son Archery
12-08-2010, 03:42 PM
Justin, as he moves it to the + on the cam he will be getting more let off. He also is only 1/4" or so away from he draw length. According to the pic it is not at 26.5 length it is less. So moving it to the plus appears to be the best solution. Unless he finds the length to short. :D

Stéphane
12-08-2010, 04:15 PM
Time out please. It's Stéphane, not Stephanie. I'm a guy so lets start with that. I'm French Canadian, hence the name. :eek:

Okay, back to the real issue. I moved the draw stop, but wasn't entirely happy with that. So I tried to change the module to #4. I couldn't. The holes were slightly off in relation to the threads, meaning I couldn't put it on. It seems that the module isn't sitting perfectly in.

So, back to the original module with the draw stop backed a bit.

In my manual, it says I can get an extra 1/2" by moving the pegs. I have no idea what those are and how to do it.

Hutch~n~Son Archery
12-08-2010, 04:45 PM
My sincere apologies about the gender mistake. Back to the real issue. Some of the cams have extra pegs. So you can take your string off one peg and move it to another. Thus 1/2" increments. The Acu trak doesn't. How far did you move your draw stop? Did you move it to the plus sign, if you did that would be 27"of draw length. Changing it to the next module would be 28" draw length. That can be done by loosening the limb bolts as we discussed before. Then have some one pull on the cable to move the position of the cam to install the module.
Hutch

Stéphane
12-08-2010, 04:56 PM
My sincere apologies about the gender mistake. Back to the real issue. Some of the cams have extra pegs. So you can take your string off one peg and move it to another. Thus 1/2" increments. The Acu trak doesn't. How far did you move your draw stop? Did you move it to the plus sign, if you did that would be 27"of draw length. Changing it to the next module would be 28" draw length. That can be done by loosening the limb bolts as we discussed before. Then have some one pull on the cable to move the position of the cam to install the module.
Hutch

I did back off the limbs, but it wasn't necessary. Removing the first module was easy. I tried to put the new one in, but it didn't fit. It doesn't sit properly. Just a tiny wee bit off. I tried moving the string but the module moves too, but no closer to fit. It might be a defective one. Now I don't want to take module #3 off because when I screwed it back in, I felt that the thread won't allow more playing with.

So, I might just bring it back to my pro shop.

Hutch~n~Son Archery
12-08-2010, 05:02 PM
I believe that would be a good idea. Your pro shop can adjust it to the best comfortable fit. I know that I had to try 2 different modules to get it right.

Stéphane
12-08-2010, 05:34 PM
On top of thanking you again, I might add that your step by step was easy to understand and follow. You should write their manuals because I was so confused reading the instructions. You paint a good picture.

Mr. Stéphane

Hutch~n~Son Archery
12-08-2010, 05:51 PM
Mr. Stéphane, your are welcome!