PDA

View Full Version : What kind of arrow nocks are the best?

Hutch~n~Son Archery
12-30-2010, 04:14 PM
What kind of arrow nocks are the best?

Hutch

Ehunter
12-30-2010, 04:43 PM
One's that fit the string best. lol I think nock to string fit is an often forgotten, and overlooked part of accuracy. One of those "in the back of my mind" things. I think most nocks are about equal in quality, but they vary in fit. Right now, I'm using pin nocks from Bohning. Good fit on my string.

Hutch~n~Son Archery
12-30-2010, 04:56 PM
One's that fit the string best. lol I think nock to string fit is an often forgotten, and overlooked part of accuracy. One of those "in the back of my mind" things. I think most nocks are about equal in quality, but they vary in fit. Right now, I'm using pin nocks from Bohning. Good fit on my string.

Yes you are right a good fit on the string a must. As a string builder I like being able to serve the center to match the nock which helps in accuracy. But some nocks aren't so well made. 7 out of 12 of my Black hawk vapor pros cracked after a few months. So I posted this thread to give me ideas.

Hutch

bfisher
12-30-2010, 05:48 PM
I used to experiment a lot but got discouraged with just what you guys are talking about. Nock to string fit. It can vary from one brand to the other too much so about 15 years ago I took a different route. I use large throat
(.098) Easton G-nock. I just get the proper size nock bushings for the arrow I'm shooting. G-nocks just seem to be more consistent; lot to lot and color to color they are all the same.

And no guessing on serving size either. To allow for break-in I know my center serving has to finish up at about .107" to .110". After some bit of shooting those lightly snap on and then slide off like butter.

Ehunter
12-30-2010, 06:42 PM