PDA

View Full Version : newbie here

tombarbee64
01-14-2011, 05:57 AM
just wanted to stop in and say hi. new to the sport (bought my first bow less than a year ago) and will probably drive everyone nuts with dumb questions. really quick history, bought a 75 browning woodsman for $25 in may 2010, shot it all summer and fall. just bought an 07/08 martin jaguar fully set up off of e-bay for $175, and now am just waiting on decent weather (something above freezing) so i can start shooting it. here's some pictures of the jaguar along with a couple of a target box i made over the summer. i hope everyone has lots of patience for a new guy.

Rangerj
01-14-2011, 06:52 AM
I like that target.Lets have some bulid details please.

alex
01-14-2011, 07:10 AM
Welcome to the forum!

tombarbee64
01-14-2011, 07:12 AM
it was an easy build. simply a 3' wide 3' tall, 2 foot deep box with a hinged lid to replace the foam and arrow stopping material. i made it with scraps laying around the garage and my only expense was for the wheels. i put it on casters so i can wheel it around and store it when i'm not shooting, but i'm going to change it to lawnmower type wheels so it will roll on the ground easier. the cut out in the front is 1' 11'' by 1' 11'' so that a 2' square piece of foam will not fall out the front. i used 2 pieces of celotex foam backed by an old blanket and a bag of garage sale leftover clothes (buttons and zippers removed). the bags of clothes will probably be replaced with some old sleeping bags i found in the basement that even the dog won't lay on. i've added an album of pictures to my profile so you can look at the inside and a couple of angles. feel free to use the idea and if you've got any improvements, let me know. i made it because i don't have a lot of room to shoot and can't leave a target out all the time. this way i can wheel it into the garage when i'm done and it fits in the corner.

Rangerj
01-14-2011, 07:27 AM