PDA

View Full Version : String travel is not just up and down

gstudt
02-25-2011, 07:41 AM
In a perfect would I would like to see my nock travel the full distance of the power stroke inside a tube not much bigger than the nock and never touch the tube.

With that said, I challenge this team on this forum to discuss and find a way to measure left to right string travel.

Whether you know if or not must of our Martin bows have a lot of left and right string travel. In the neighbor hood of 3/4". This is part of the reason why at the static position the sight pins are generally a fair amount left of the arrow shaft. (Right handed speaking).

The TRG has helped this problem a lot. How much??? I know the TRG tunes a ton easier. I want to measure it.

I have some ideas but really hard to explain.

OK archery Engineers let me know what you think.

Thanks
Gary

elkslayer4x5
02-25-2011, 12:17 PM
I think the I've X ed lateral string/nock movement out, when I started shooting thru. :D
How're you going to measure lateral string movement? Should be able to use a draw board, instead of measuring from bow to string, measure string to board at every inch of power stroke, Something alone those lines? :)

Spiker
02-25-2011, 06:31 PM
I was thinking the bow in a shooting machine, ruler positioned horizontally, and camera lined up behind it all.
Shoot the arrow and watch the video to see how far it moves left to right...

Hutch~n~Son Archery
02-26-2011, 02:32 AM
I agree with Spiker. I have a shooting machine and watching the string movement would be simple. The only thing is the video cam would have to be able to show super slow motion.

Hutch:cool:

archerx7
02-26-2011, 04:13 AM
I was thinking the bow in a shooting machine, ruler positioned horizontally, and camera lined up behind it all.
Shoot the arrow and watch the video to see how far it moves left to right...

I think this will be the most logical way to measure horizontal nock travel along with a high speed camera.