PDA

View Full Version : Onza 3 questions



Buggles
03-24-2011, 02:11 AM
Hi Folks,
Well I have had my Onza 3 for a few weeks now, been shooting it a bit while I set it up, put about 500 arrows through it. I have a couple of questions/issues for the knowing folk out there:
- When I received the bow the a2a length was 33.5", BH 7.5" is this around what others are seeing? I dropped the a2a to the spec'd 33.25" and after receiving my bow scale today the bow peeked out at over 72#, it's a 45-60# bow, according to the label. So I unwound the cables and at 33 5/8" I am getting 66#. At this length the cables have 1 twist every 2", and cable length is a bit long (I didn't measure it). At 1.5"/twist it was ok, 66# peak and a slightly less a2a. My limbs are 3HP, have I got a 70# bow?

As this is my first bow I can't compare how it shoots with anything else but it has a really smooth draw, solid wall and no vibration what-so-ever. I am loving it.

There are a couple of things I think could be better and most of these have been pointed out before:
- minor imperfects in the camo film, no impact on the bows performance so not a big issue just something that could be better.
- screws on SOS will sink into the SOS if you don't watch the amount you tighten them. My bad, but no real resistance increase when it bottomed out, fixed with washers under the screws.
- Roto cups do scrape off the film especially when you undo the limbs to remove the string/cables.
- I have found my saddleback grip slides all over the place. I am looking at replacing it with a piece of leather going all the way around.

Cheers from down under,
Craig

archerx7
03-24-2011, 04:31 AM
Craig, Welcome to the forum. My own Onza is also a 45-60 model and has 3HP limbs, it peaks at 60.9#s with the limbs bottomed. A2A measures 33.25" and brace is 7 3/8". The only thing that I've done is to set the cables and string to factory specs.

The 70# models would have 5MP limbs. My suggestion would be to take the string/cables off and set them to factory specs then make sure your cam timing is correct and remeasure the draw weight, is it possible that the scale your using is off a bit ? Is it a digital or spring type scale ?

polaris754
03-24-2011, 02:07 PM
all i can say , if yer not happy with it send it to me !!!!!!!!!!!!!! congrats on the new bow !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:rolleyes:

Buggles
03-27-2011, 03:48 AM
Hi Archerx7,
I have a digital scale. Yes it is possible for these things to be off.

I pulled the bow apart and adjusted the cable lengths to spec. I now have a peak draw weight of 64#. A2a is 33 3/8", BH 7 3/8", these numbers are ok. ~1 twist/inch on the cables and 5/8"/twist on the string. Does this make my string too twisted?

Hi Polaris754,
Sorry, not a chance buddy. You are going to have to buy your own.

Cheers,
Craig

bfisher
03-27-2011, 06:15 AM
Hi Archerx7,
I have a digital scale. Yes it is possible for these things to be off.

I pulled the bow apart and adjusted the cable lengths to spec. I now have a peak draw weight of 64#. A2a is 33 3/8", BH 7 3/8", these numbers are ok. ~1 twist/inch on the cables and 5/8"/twist on the string. Does this make my string too twisted?

Hi Polaris754,
Sorry, not a chance buddy. You are going to have to buy your own.

Cheers,
Craig

You have to get used to Polaris. He's our proverbial beggar on the forum. "Alms for the Poor? Alms for the Poor?" Just ignore him. He's harmless. LOL.