PDA

View Full Version : need some advice

wisconsinarcher
04-01-2011, 01:05 PM
im a new owner of a 2011 martin firecat400 im new to martin bows i was just curious if theres anything anyone would reccomend to quiet it down? ive got bowjacks silencers on the riser limbs string limsaver minis on the rest and sights. Are the new 2011 bows just that loud with the newstring deadstop they designed? would appreciate any feed back! Thanks all!

martinbowhunter
04-01-2011, 01:10 PM
Go and read the "How to quiet an SOS" thread. Also i prefer cat whisker's on my strings. Also, do you happen to know what grain arrow your shooting and what poundage is your DW? And last but not least....is your bow timed right? Oh yeah and, Welcome. You have a very nice bow/shooter.

Simple Life
04-01-2011, 01:15 PM
Welcome and congrats on your new bow.

SL

Money Man
04-01-2011, 01:59 PM
Start with the SOS about a credit card width from the string. Move around and see how it works for you, then when you are happy, try taking the bowjax off and compare to it with them on. Good luck. Post some pics when you get a chance, we all love to see what everyone else is shooting.

cjchasman
04-01-2011, 03:29 PM
First off...Welcome! Another thread that may be of intrest to you is back on page 5 titled "Loud Bow Solutions". The guys that have good Martin experience on this forum(not me I'm new to Martin also) know what they're talking about so give them some time to help out. The cat whiskers are a good first step. You should try to post pics of the cams; they'll probably need to take a look at them. Good Luck.

archerx7
04-01-2011, 03:35 PM
There are a number of things that can make any bow loud. Check the draw modules to make sure they are tight, check the cam timing to make sure it is right on. Check all your accessories to make sure they are tight. If using a drop away rest, some of them can be quite loud.