PDA

View Full Version : ONZA 3 question



JeffW
04-27-2011, 02:37 PM
I have just bought an ONZA 3 and the pro shop couldn't put the NAP QAD on due to the riser, anyone have the QAD on their set up???

Simple Life
04-27-2011, 03:17 PM
Is it the riser or is it clearance with the TRG /SOS set-up?

JeffW
04-27-2011, 03:21 PM
Not sure they just said that they couldn't get it tuned right. I believe they said it was due to the bridged riser. I am just curious if anyone has the QAD on the ONZA 3 as that is what I really wanted on the bow.

Simple Life
04-27-2011, 03:35 PM
There's a adapter that will bring the rest out,might be what you need,also read there is a QAD made espically for Hoyt's tec risers.Might also work on the Onza

JeffW
04-27-2011, 03:39 PM
Do you mean bring the rest closer to the string.

Simple Life
04-27-2011, 03:42 PM
Yes,gets it away from the bridged riser and also the TRG/SOS

JeffW
04-27-2011, 03:53 PM
I wonder why the pro shop did not mention that...

MLN1963
04-27-2011, 03:55 PM
NAP and QAD are two different companies. Search my name and you will see what makes it work if you are talking about a QAD Ultra Rest.

Simple Life
04-27-2011, 03:59 PM
Not sure,but from what I read online there are certain bows that need the spacer.Hopefully that is all you need.

HawgEnvy
04-27-2011, 04:15 PM
There's a adapter that will bring the rest out,might be what you need,also read there is a QAD made espically for Hoyt's tec risers.Might also work on the Onza

hoyts rests are usually specific to hoyt in the way they mount.

JeffW
04-27-2011, 04:22 PM
Thanks

Hopefully, the proshop will put it on as I have spent about $900 setting this bow up.
I figured out that NAP doesn't make the ultra rest. LOL!!! I appreciate your help. I have another question the bow has an IBO rating of 330to340 fps and I watched them chrono it at 291. 29 inch draw length 67# draw weight G5 meta peep and a D-Loop easton lightspeed arrows, 100 grain field pts.

buckslayr
04-27-2011, 06:21 PM
you don't need anything special,I have a QAD on mine and it works great.buckslayr

kylecurtis04
04-27-2011, 06:48 PM
Thanks

Hopefully, the proshop will put it on as I have spent about $900 setting this bow up.
I figured out that NAP doesn't make the ultra rest. LOL!!! I appreciate your help. I have another question the bow has an IBO rating of 330to340 fps and I watched them chrono it at 291. 29 inch draw length 67# draw weight G5 meta peep and a D-Loop easton lightspeed arrows, 100 grain field pts.

what is your arrow weight?

JeffW
04-28-2011, 11:12 AM
385 grains

kylecurtis04
04-28-2011, 10:37 PM
385 grains

According to the backcountry calculator, you are pretty close to the speed. The calc says you should be at 298 FPS. I'd say 291 is awfully darn close.

wscywabbit
04-29-2011, 11:20 AM
I also just bought an Onza, and had to modify my NAP Apache to fit. As you can see, I had to cut the riser side down to fit under the bridge:
http://i995.photobucket.com/albums/af80/wscywabbit/DSCF5194.jpg

MLN1963
04-29-2011, 11:24 AM
It looks like loading an arrow might be a bit troublesome from that picture.

wscywabbit
04-29-2011, 11:40 AM
actually, its not too bad. At least not any worse than the meager opening of the original rest. Navigating the TRG and SOS will take some practice though lol

http://i995.photobucket.com/albums/af80/wscywabbit/DSCF5204.jpg

MLN1963
04-29-2011, 11:51 AM
Yeah the combo of TRG and Apache does look like it would make it kinda hard to thread the needle.

bowgramp59
04-29-2011, 06:09 PM
i have a quad hunter on my onza works great.

JeffW
04-30-2011, 05:20 PM
According to the backcountry calculator, you are pretty close to the speed. The calc says you should be at 298 FPS. I'd say 291 is awfully darn close.


So one inch in draw length and 35 more grains and a two inch shorter arrow means I am going to lose 49 fps???

wscywabbit
05-01-2011, 12:27 PM
Just an update on my modified Apache rest; even though it fits and works well, I had to put the spacer on so the knobs had clearance. This wouldn't be a big deal, except that the rest doesn't adjust far enough left to get my centershot right... gonna have to switch to another rest, but it was worth the try.

bfisher
05-01-2011, 05:25 PM
Just an update on my modified Apache rest; even though it fits and works well, I had to put the spacer on so the knobs had clearance. This wouldn't be a big deal, except that the rest doesn't adjust far enough left to get my centershot right... gonna have to switch to another rest, but it was worth the try.

It's sad that this happened to you, but it's good that you posted your findings. Maybe it'll help others Not make the same mistake.

archerx7
05-01-2011, 05:34 PM
Just an update on my modified Apache rest; even though it fits and works well, I had to put the spacer on so the knobs had clearance. This wouldn't be a big deal, except that the rest doesn't adjust far enough left to get my centershot right... gonna have to switch to another rest, but it was worth the try.

Where is your centershot setting up at ? Mine is 1-1/16" from between the rest holes to the center of the arrow using a Limb Driver.

wscywabbit
05-01-2011, 07:29 PM
Where is your centershot setting up at ? Mine is 1-1/16" from between the rest holes to the center of the arrow using a Limb Driver.

Haven't finished setting it up yet, but I'll let you know later in the week when I get to shoot again.


mine is a pse and i had to cut it to make it work ... but you cant tell ... i used a perm marker to paint it black after i cut it... works great .. the string does touches the riser a little bit but im not to worry about it.

I also used permanent marker on the part I cut off, and it seemed to work well until I couldn't move left anymore when tuning the dang thing! :mad:

I put a WB on it for now, can't get a new rest right now because I already had to get a new case (wouldn't fit my old one lol... oh honey... :cool:)

Thechevyman122
05-05-2011, 04:31 PM
The QAD definitely works as I have it on my onza 3. You have to use the spacer that it comes with.

Thanks

wscywabbit
05-05-2011, 06:32 PM
Where is your centershot setting up at ? Mine is 1-1/16" from between the rest holes to the center of the arrow using a Limb Driver.

So from the inside of the riser, its about 7/8" to the center of the arrow. From the outside, its about 1 9/16". That's with my WB. Might have to try the TR Revolution though...

MLN1963
05-05-2011, 08:07 PM
So from the inside of the riser, its about 7/8" to the center of the arrow. From the outside, its about 1 9/16". That's with my WB. Might have to try the TR Revolution though...

Keep us updated on that TR Revolution.