Thread: wrist straps?

Hybrid View

wrenches

Default wrist straps?

I hear everyone talking about these wrist straps. what aspect of shooting a bow does this help with. i am new to shooting bows so there may be more dumb questions to follow!!!!!

Bubba101st

The wrist strap that is attached to the bow is there to keep the bow from jumping out of your hand. Keeping it from falling to the ground/floor. I have a friend that refuses to put on on his bow and I have seen him drop his bow twice. It could get really ugly if or when stuff starts to break.

mysnake12

Not to start a big controversy on this subject, however there are lots of pros and cons...to explain better...it is kind of like shooting a gun...you always squeeze the trigger never pull.....with bows...you never grip the riser handle because of torque you place on the handle, on the other hand....a open hand may also cause inconsistent torque depending on angle of shot...so I grasp the bow, not grip, and like all things... this might have its drawbacks???? However, if you choose open hand, I will agree with the "bubba101st" that a wrist strap will save you a lot of heartache!!!! But, for what it is worth, try it both ways and find the most consistent shot placement for your style of shooting....open hand or grasping will both work....I have just found that in a vertically challenged shot that grasping works best for me...just my opinion, K?

wrenches

thanks for the info. I have just been grasping the grip instead of useing an open hand because i did fin it to work better.

Post Thanks / Like

Grasping is one of the worst things you can do when shooting a bow. Eventually you start grasping the bow before the arrow leaves the bow, causing torque, which adversely affect accuracy. It can also lead to target panic, which you definitely don't want--believe me.