Thread: Sizing

Hybrid View

Post Thanks / Like

Default Sizing

I've been wanting to get into the traditional archery scene but have no idea where to start. I have been shooting compound bow for twenty years with a current draw weight of 65#. Can anyone tell me where to begin with bow size, draw length and a good draw weight to start with.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by JoePC85 View Post
    I've been wanting to get into the traditional archery scene but have no idea where to start. I have been shooting compound bow for twenty years with a current draw weight of 65#. Can anyone tell me where to begin with bow size, draw length and a good draw weight to start with.
    Welcome to the forum JoePC85. Shooting a 65 pound Compound and shooting a 65 pound recurve are different. I recommend that you visit a local Traditional shop and test shoot different pound bows. ILF bow are really popular because you can learn with some 25-30 pound and them move up to 40 Plus Limbs when you want to go hunting. You want to make sure you don't buy too much draw weight. If you can't properly anchor then it's a waste.

This is a Copy of a post made by Viper1 ( Tony Camera) on ArcheryTalk.

http://www.archerytalk.com/vb/showthread.php?t=1588147

"First Recurve Bow

First Traditional Bow and Accessories - suggestions

Bow –
    Recurve or longbow? While certainly a personal preference, the grip, physical weight and balance of a modern recurve will typically lessen the learning curve over most longbows. However, whatever bow you chose must appeal to you on some gut level. If you’re not happy with it, you’re not going to want to shoot it!