Thread: Lets talk shims...

Post Thanks / Like

Default Lets talk shims...

So the idler wheel on my 2012 Pantera has developed a vibration/buzzing and I'm suspecting a shim issue. I already pressed it and moved the idler checking for any play to try and eliminate a bearing problem (hoping its not the bearings). I got a shim kit from Martin and will be doing the work tonight. Does anyone have some input on this whole process or about the problem itself? I am very mechanically inclined by trade but nonetheless this is my first attempt at this. Thanks for any help.

Sonny Thomas

Top wheel? Pressed, string off, spin the wheel. It should spin for a bit and no stutter stuff. Normally, you can roll the wheel, starting with the heal of your hand and roll right off the finger tip. Any "clunk" feel, then a bearing. There can be a certain amount of play on the axle when holding the cam and trying to test it towards either end of the axle - not much, but a ever so tiny bit. If it shakes quite a bit then possibly a bearing.

Side to side play within the limbs, maybe, but rarely. For a wheel have equal amount of shims or same size on each side. Normally it's a little stubborn to shove all in if all is correct, but generally all goes in. If you have to force some, then probably too much shim.

Okay, no rocket science involved, just common sense. Don't feel it's right, call Martin.

Post Thanks / Like

Side to side play in limbs..hmmm. Funny you bring that up because I thought about it and then brushed it off thinking there's no way. When I bump the riser the whole limb and idler wheel vibrates and buzzes and I can feel it after the shot. I did roll the idler wheel and it didn't spin freely but also didn't feel like it was sticking or clunky. Oh boy this is going to be fun trying to track down this problem.

Post Thanks / Like