Thread: Fircat Specs?

IDABOW

Default Fircat Specs?

Asked this on AT, thought I'd try here to.

My Firecat is 32 3/16" ATA, and 6 3/4 brace at the 27" slot n the modules. Specs are 33", and 7". Is this shorter due to my draw length?

How do I determine my draw stop position? Coffey scale reads 70lbs, with 14lbs. holding weight. That's right at 80% let off. How do I drop down a 1/4" or so draw? 26.5" is to short, but 27" feels (on this bow) too long. Should I shorten the string or lengthen the cables?

I LOVE this bow! This is my first short ATA bow and it's great!

Finally how do you tweek the CATS to get the most out of them?

Thanks Steve

cb671

Hey Steve there's a post at archerytalk that show's the position of Cat Cam's where the person found to be a sweet spot for him. Gonna give that a Try once my Firecat come's in.

IDABOW

Next ? Can I safely back the limb bolts out to twist the cables and strings? I have a bowmaster press but I cant use the split limb adapters due to the drawstop. Using it through the limbs act as though they would rub the limb forks. Any ideas?

Post Thanks / Like

Steve,

If the FireCat is like other Martin bows it has long limb bolts. You can actually back them out far enough to completely remove tension from the limbs. In other words you can disassemble the bow without a press.

Take notice that the bolts thread into barrel nuts in the riser (seen from the side). See how far you can back the bolts out before you start seeing daylight through the barrel nut.

Example. Because of neck surgery I had to back off the weight on my 55# Pantera to be able to shoot. I had it down to 27# and still no daylight through the barrel nut. Oh, and I don't know how many turns that was. I just cranked it down till I could handle it, but it was about 8-10 turns.