Thread: Arrow rest for 3-D

flytier17

Default Arrow rest for 3-D

What rest do I use for 3-D?? I have 2 spot-Hogg Platinums, same as GKF Platinum Premier for you old farts..., but I have been looking at the ProTuner with the Lock mount. Which one?

Also, if I use the Platinum, do I use prongs or a lizard tongue?

Looking for input from experienced 3-D shooters who know about these style rests.

Shooting it off my Cougar III. Using either CXL-II or ACC's

Post Thanks / Like

Prongs or Lizard Tongue? My preferrence is the lizard tongue. I don't shoot a Pro Tuner, but I shoot several rests with the tongue. I shoot a Trphy Taker Spring Steel, simply because my rep got for me---free.

OH GEES, I just looked to see who it was. How ya doin Alec?

Post Thanks / Like

I have no experience with 3D shoots but i am using the lizard tongue on both bows with a GK/Spot Hogg Premier Rest and i am very satisfied.
    (2) Hoyt PCEXL

flytier17

OK, I think I will stick with the Platinums for now.

As fer how I'm doin' I'm mad. Gotta buy arrows. FMJ's are awesome hunting arrows, with one drawback. Make that 2. #1 is the price. BUT, you get what you pay for so I won't complain. Too much. #1 is that unlike carbons, they can bend after the slightest trauma and remain bent. Even with 1 shaft per spot per 10yds, I just spun-tested all my 18 arrows and only 8 are acceptable. Of those, only 5 are perfect. Other than that, I am fantastically happy with the arrows, and don't really want to switch. However, It is time to buy more, and since Easton switched the 340 FMJ from 11.1gpi to 11.3gpi, I need to start from scratch anyways. SOOO, Do you think I should go to a high-tolerance specs carbon, or stick with what I got and NEVER shoot more than one arrow per spot?

Post Thanks / Like