Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: max poundage for hunting?

Smarta Way

Default max poundage for hunting?

I am brand new to this. I have an 09 firecat right now with the poundage maxed out. Is it too loud with this setting? Are the groups more inconsistant this way? I dont know how many turns off the limbs to approximate a certain poundage.

SandSquid

Quote Originally Posted by Smarta Way View Post
    I am brand new to this. I have an 09 firecat right now with the poundage maxed out. Is it too loud with this setting? Are the groups more inconsistant this way? I dont know how many turns off the limbs to approximate a certain poundage.
    Each complete revolution of the bolt out takes off about 3#, for a maximum of 5 turns and 15#.

However I don't think that alone will cure a noisy bow. Besides having it tuned by an experinced bow mechanic, probably the single best thing you can do to quiet down a bow is add an STS.

That being said, go ahead and and back it off all you want. I am of the strongest opinion that poundage is not the key factor in sucessful hunting, shot placement is.... This fall my daughter took a doe form about 15 yards, with her Parker SideKick with the draw weight set at 17.5#. Pefect, clean heart and lung shot, arrow passed right through. Bambi dropped a few yards away.

dbd870

With todays bows if one had a 35-40# minimum type bow that a fair number of the states require I wouldn't be too worried about it. I would keep the range reasonable though; If you're shooting 50lb+ you have KE to burn for deer. I agree with SandSquid - hitting is the key.

whitetailfreak86

Quote Originally Posted by Smarta Way View Post