Thread: What vanes do you prefer?

jbowers12

Default What vanes do you prefer?

I was wondering what kind of vanes does everyone prefer for hunting? I like the blazer vanes but I always have trouble getting a fixed broadhead to fly straight with them. I have usually been using 4in duravanes. I like the blazers better though. I've been trying to get them to fly straight with a muzzy. I've tried every grain. I finally got them half way good with the 4-blade 100 grain. I shot on doe the opening day at 45 yards. Got a good pass through. Didn't run 25 to 30 yards and died in front of me. But then i started shooting at the house and they kept flying crooked. So iv recently just been hunting with the 4 in vanes with fixed blade. What fixed blad broadhead do you shoot with blazers. I dont like mechaninal broadheads.

flytier17

Well, I consider a lot of things when choosing a fletch.

The primary objective of the fletch is to stabilize and controll the arrow. This can be done, and usually is, by spin. An arrow flexes when it is shot. To control the flex of the arrow, they are made in different spines, so they flex accordingly to the force put out by individual bows. The better a job a fletch does in spinning the arrow, the more work is taken away from the arrow itself, so a lighter spine will fly better. This is usually insignificant enough to disregard. However, there are two exceptions.