Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 09 cheetah limb adjustment

skoty69

Default 09 cheetah limb adjustment

I just got my bow a week ago, and i have 60lbs limbs, from the factory they were at 65lbs, and the screws still had adjustment to go higher. The guy at the local archery shop turned them 2 turns out i believe. Is it safe just to crank the limbs in until the screw stops? Conversely, are there any problems with shooting a bow at the bottom of the adjustment range? I'm new to this sport and cant keep drawing 70lbs or more and get any real amount of practice time. Should i seek out 50lbs limbs instead? i was under the impression that if i ordered a 60lb max bow the max would be 60lbs and the min about 45lbs, is my the only bow that is too high? The limbs read 3L, what is the poundage for these limbs?

Post Thanks / Like

Im a not sure what the 60lbs rating should be but if you order a bow with 60lbs maximum draw weight your draw weight range should be 45 - 60lbs.

If you turn the limb screw 5 turns out and you get more than around 45 to 47 lbs you may have the wrong limbs. Maybe you will measure the bows ata and bh and check if it meets the factory specs.
    (2) Martin ShadowCat 2010

flytier17

If you ordered a 60lb bow, it should bottom no more than 62-64lbs. you may have the wrong limbs on your bow.

No problem with shooting at the bottom end of the range, but you will have an almost negligible decrease of effeciency. Basically, if you shot 2 bows with identical specs but one was backed off 15lbs and the other was bottomed, the bottomed bow might have 3 fps more.

Nothing wrong with bottoming your limbs either, but the poundage might be around 70, which is not what you want from what I understand.

simon has a good suggestion. Check the specs. its unlikely the factory would have drastically screwed the strings up, but not impossible. its more likely they sent you the wrong limbs, or the proshop didn't order correctly.

Alec

skoty69

Default hmmmm