Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Playing with draw length

newt2archery

Default Playing with draw length

I'm a beginner, and found the bow I want for taking backpacking and hunting small game, the Martin Rebel. Unfortunately I am a big guy (6'2"), with a 77" wingspan for a calculated 30.5" draw length. According to the specs the Rebel draws out to 29" which is too small for me.

If I were to use a trigger, would this have the effect of allowing me to use a smaller draw length comfortably? Does this make sense to do this? I'd rather not use a trigger, but if it allows me to comfortably and accurately use a small light bow, then I want to do it...

newt2archery

Default follow up question on draw weight

Also on the draw weight, would the rated draw weight be at the maximum extension of 29" for this bow?

Post Thanks / Like

I think you have been misinformed. The Rebel is a recurve and as such has no specific draw length. They can be drawn to whatever draw you prefer.All traditional bows are rated for draw weight at 28". Most of them will draw 2# more for each inch over 28" or 2# less for each inch shorter than 28".

I would highly recommend you shoot a few to see how they feel. Normally a longer bow will not stack up as quickly, meaning it will draw smoother and will have more speed (cast) at a given poundage with the same arrow.

Not trying to scare you away from the Rebel. Just give a few basic facts.

You shouldn't need a release to shoot it. In fact, most people who shoot traditional do so to keep away from releases, sights, and all the other gadgets us compound shooters rely on. It does add another dimension to shooting and hunting. One lost on some of us older guys and ever experienced by most of the younger set these days.