Thread: New '09 MOAB owner would appreciate any suggestions

Post Thanks / Like

Default New '09 MOAB owner would appreciate any suggestions

Good evening,

Long time hunter but shiny new to archery. Been lurking in the forum and after receiving my '09 MOAB, couldn't think of a better place to pose questions/concerns.

Bought the bow bare and had it set up at a mom & pop shop with a Whisker Biscuit rest, sight, peep, stabilizer. Seems to shoot fine after practice Friday and today (about 75 - 100 arrows). Shooting at 55#/401 grain arrow/28" draw/no kisser or cat whiskers. I'm hitting 237 fps on the chrono. Feel that's slow. Although I lack any reference due to inexperience, the bow feels good and in 2 days my form and accuracy has improved. Plan to shoot at 60#next weekend.

I've got some concerns that may or may not be well founded. As I'm new to archery (but learning fast) I probably don't even know what I don't know.

1. 237 fps seems slow.
    2. The peep sight was installed with a four-way split of the string. Would this rob speed?
    3. It seems the idler wheel is freying the string as only that area shows visible wear?
    4. Would serving the string around the idler wheel steal fps?
    5. I know I can cut the arrows shorter (lighter), there's plenty of room for that, and of course I can crank up the draw weight. Any suggestions for making the bow more efficient given the current numbers?

As I hinted, not sure if these are reasonable concerns. My main goal is to create an efficient hunting tool, however, with all new things, I'm enjoying the pursuit of the technical and physical aspects of archery.

Thanks for any advice. I enjoy reading all the posts and feedback.

LMJii, ignorant but working on it in FL
    '09 MOAB/55# and climbing/28" draw/401 gr.

Dave308